Conversion 720p -> 1080i at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 9th, 2006, 05:09 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Conversion 720p -> 1080i

I was wondering if anyone explored the options for convering the HD100 native 720p 30fps to 1080i. I might need to do that with small chunks of footage (max. 10 min). It needs to be delivered in native file format including sound, either as HDV tape or a file burned to a DVD.

Thank you for any suggestions.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2006, 05:22 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Apple's Compressor does a very good job (since the FCP5 update) of scaling and converting between formats.

If you can deal with Quicktimes, it's a cheap and good way to go.

FCP5 itself can do a good job too, but you have to check your work. If you export/convert in one fashion, it'll do a good job, but if you do it in another it'll be not-so-hot.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2006, 06:50 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Nate, does using Apple Compressor mean that the footage will be compressed? (I am an Avid guy...) And, what format will it convert to? The transport stream?
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2006, 06:55 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
You can convert to all sorts of codecs/formats...

What I'd do if it needed to be HDV format ("HDV tape or file burned to DVD") would be to:

1-Capture the 720p30 as native (not AIC) in FCP
2-Convert the captured Quicktime file (which is native HDV inside a QT file) using Compressor to 1080i60 HDV.
3-Import that new file back into FCP and "Print to Tape"

That flow, if compressor converts correctly (and I think it should), only causes one generation of recompression loss.

The only thing that would be tough on the Mac would be to get it back to native m2t...although maybe Lumiere can do that. None of the Apple products deal in m2t yet.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2006, 07:17 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Thanks Nate, I will try that.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 11:54 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
You can convert to all sorts of codecs/formats...

What I'd do if it needed to be HDV format ("HDV tape or file burned to DVD") would be to:

1-Capture the 720p30 as native (not AIC) in FCP
2-Convert the captured Quicktime file (which is native HDV inside a QT file) using Compressor to 1080i60 HDV.
3-Import that new file back into FCP and "Print to Tape"
Are you saying that it is possible to print 1080i back to the HD100?? or would you need a 1080i cam/deck to print to?
Greg Bellotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 12:16 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
You need a 1080i deck/camera. The HD100 won't record 1080i.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 01:19 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
You can convert to all sorts of codecs/formats...

What I'd do if it needed to be HDV format ("HDV tape or file burned to DVD") would be to:

1-Capture the 720p30 as native (not AIC) in FCP
2-Convert the captured Quicktime file (which is native HDV inside a QT file) using Compressor to 1080i60 HDV.
3-Import that new file back into FCP and "Print to Tape"

That flow, if compressor converts correctly (and I think it should), only causes one generation of recompression loss.

The only thing that would be tough on the Mac would be to get it back to native m2t...although maybe Lumiere can do that. None of the Apple products deal in m2t yet.

Nate,
I have been able to export .m2t streams from Compressor. Use the MPEG2 option and then under extras select the option to create a transport stream. You can also select the compression level that you want. Works pretty good. You could use DVHSCap to put the file back to tape.

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network