Drop Outs Between Shots? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2006, 05:04 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Drop Outs Between Shots?

Has anyone seen drop out between shots?

We were out yesterday afternoon shooting tests, when I watched the footage on my plasma, there was "drop outs" or digital noise a few times between shots.

It was very cold outside, perhaps that had something to do with it.

We are using the JVC Professional tape.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Tom
Tom Chaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 08:28 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Actually, yes I have too.
I just picked up my camera two days ago.

I'm not sure why it's occuring in between shots?
I guess we're fortunate it's not in the shot.

Well, I guess we can always edit these out, but it does seem wierd.

Any thoughts on this?
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 09:02 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
It is normal with HDV. There will be a glitch at almost every cut point, especially with 24P. It is important to preroll for about 10 seconds before you yell "action."
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 10:56 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
When I just had my HD100, I had the same problem.
Cleaning the heads solved it. I heard from a video production company they always do that with all their cameras, when they take it out of the box. For them it's a standard procedure, with any brand.
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 11:25 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
It is normal with HDV. There will be a glitch at almost every cut point, especially with 24P. It is important to preroll for about 10 seconds before you yell "action."

Oh great, now we're back to saying: "Wait for speed"

So we have to edit/trim each and every clip for this as well?
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 11:29 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ferling
Oh great, now we're back to saying: "Wait for speed"
Kinda always had to say that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ferling
So we have to edit/trim each and every clip for this as well?
I don't get it. It's the same amount of work whether I have to trim an excess 15 frames off the head of a clip for a good edit, or if I have to trim 10 seconds.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2006, 11:47 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ferling
Oh great, now we're back to saying: "Wait for speed"
It's always been that way. Even Betacam needs 5 seconds for pre-roll after it starts rolling! Most film cameras reach 24fps sync speed in under 1 second, video cameras have always taken longer.
If you don't want to miss anything I think there will be a "pre-roll loop" function built into the FS-4/DR-HD100.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 12:46 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
... It is important to preroll for about 10 seconds before you yell "action."
Also worth mentioning, I tend roll an additional 3 to 5 seconds at the end of each take as well. I'm going by personal experience when shooting with the HD100, it has helped reduce my dropouts encroaching into a scene (with frequent start and stop shooting).
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 12:52 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 184
Having worked with Video since tube cameras and formats such as 3/4", 1/2", Betacam, M5, DigiBeta, DV and now HDV it has always been best practice to roll several seconds before and after your "shot". This is important for several reasons. It gives the tape time to come up to speed (yes just like film) and it keeps any electronic "hits" away from your important content. The drum flying on and off the tape can cause glitches, even on flying erase heads. It gives you some editing wiggle room should you decide you need it for timing, dissolve time, etc.

At least tape is cheap and rolling more than you need doesn't burn up the budget like film stock does. :)
Tim Holtermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2006, 07:58 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
Posts: 221
I have experienced exactly the same issues, specially in 24P... Tim's recommendation of pre-rolling time (and post rolling time, for that matter) has solved all my "drop-out/pixellation issues, so I use it as a SOP (Standatd Operating Procedure) with my camera.

Luis
Luis Otero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 08:23 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
Ah, it's partly me. I'm spoiled by capture directly to HDD/Firestore for DV. I don't have to preroll. Great for longform. Without having a similiar setup for HDV, I'm back to logging clips, batch capture, and dropouts.
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 08:20 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 282
My camera was having breaks on audio and TC after REC-STANDBY-REC sequence, no drop outs however. After updating the camera's VTR firmware the problem was fixed.
Diogo Athouguia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2006, 09:53 AM   #13
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ferling
Ah, it's partly me. I'm spoiled by capture directly to HDD/Firestore for DV. I don't have to preroll. Great for longform. Without having a similiar setup for HDV, I'm back to logging clips, batch capture, and dropouts.
Peter - I guess depending on which Firestore you've got you maybe albe to bu a software upgrade to record HDV. Apparently the pre-roll thing is worse with the Sony HDV cameras, so it's just a fact of life.
John Mitchell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network