Burn time code for dubs? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 27th, 2006, 11:17 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
Burn time code for dubs?

I just switched to the HD100 from a PD150 and after I shoot interviews, I make VHS dubs for my clients to preview - w/ burned-in time code. I can't figure out how to do that w/ the HD100. I can get a signal to a VCR, but I can't get the time code to follow. Is that not a function for this camera or am I missing something?

Thanks.
Bill Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 11:48 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
It's ridiculous isn't it!

The BR-HD50 deck has the capability to burn in TC on the analog output, but not the camera. This feature was #7 on my "Ten Most Wanted" list, but it is quickly working its way to #1.
Making VHS dailies dubs in one thing but during a shoot, my continuity person, 2nd AC and sound recordist all should have access to TC. It is a big hinderance for dramatic production.

We've discussed it here before:
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=54420
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 11:58 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
I was afraid of that. I was planning on getting the deck anyway. Now it's sooner rather than later.

Thanks.
Bill Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 01:00 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 40
stupid question ;) haha

when you guys say "burned in time code" you mean that it is displayed with the footage when taken off the camera at the bottom of the footage? and i guess can be cropped out of the footage when editing? is that correct? is a large reason for displaying the TC for others during production is so they can have a reference to what you the dp/director is talking about for other shots surrounding this footage?

when i type this it seems like a dips**t question, but i guess i'm curious

thanks
Jon Glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2006, 05:43 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cambridge MA
Posts: 204
It's only "burned in" the VHS dub. The original MiniDV tape has the same time code that can be referenced, but it won't show up on the image itself and doesn't need to be cropped out.
Bill Parker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network