VF and LCD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 27th, 2006, 12:28 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Croydon, England
Posts: 277
VF and LCD

Hi,
Just got my HD101 today, so I apologise in advance for all the inane and stupid questions I will be asking over the next few days - feel free to use any sarcasm necessary if I have just overlooked things in the manual!... first question - how do you get the VF and LCD to operate simultaneously? I know its not supposed to happen, but a demo unit I saw at the Video Forum trade show had both switched on at the same time, so it must be possible (i'm using the IDX kit so power won't be a problem...)
Paul Jefferies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 12:37 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Currently, it is not possible. I see no reason why they couldn't modify the firmware to allow this, unless it is a physical power switch.

This is #1 on my "Top Ten Most Wanted" list.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 12:46 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Jefferies
Hi,
Just got my HD101 today, so I apologise in advance for all the inane and stupid questions I will be asking over the next few days - feel free to use any sarcasm necessary if I have just overlooked things in the manual!... first question - how do you get the VF and LCD to operate simultaneously? I know its not supposed to happen, but a demo unit I saw at the Video Forum trade show had both switched on at the same time, so it must be possible (i'm using the IDX kit so power won't be a problem...)
Paul,

Welcome!

I don't know what you saw at the trade show but the camera cannot display VF and LCD pictures at the same time. It would be nice if it did!

Are you possibly thinking of the camera's ability to switch from camera to vtr mode by pressing 'stop', thereby avoiding having to open the lcd panel and pressing the vtr button, to check footage?

Tony
Tony Goodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 12:47 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 70
Jeez!

Dashwood's fast!

Why dis I say Welcome to someone with more posts than myself! Answers on a postcard please

Tony
Tony Goodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 01:39 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Croydon, England
Posts: 277
thanks for the info. all I can say is that I picked up a camera that was on one of the stands (I think it was the IDX stand - JVC did not have their own stand there) and I was looking in both the viewfinder and at the LCD, using the focus assist, without pushing any other buttons. I didn't even think about the fact that both Vf and LCD were on simultaneously until I got home, and by then it was too late to ask them how they did it! Unless my brain was in overload at the time and I imagined it...
Paul Jefferies is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network