Commercial shot with HD 100 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2006, 11:48 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 44
Commercial shot with HD 100

I shot a commercial for a FORD service center the other day and I was blown away with the camera's performance. I was even surprised at the selective focus I was able to achieve on some shots. Not to mention the color and detail.

The client, crew and everyone on location couldn't stop looking at the monitor. I was very pleased.

You can download a short clip here.
http://homepage.mac.com/racegun/FileSharing16.html
Council Bradshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 12:01 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,214
Hi Council,

I downloaded the clip to have a look but what codec did you use to encode. QT came up and said the codec didn't exist on my system.

Nice demo reel BTW...
Stephen L. Noe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 12:17 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen L. Noe
Hi Council,

I downloaded the clip to have a look but what codec did you use to encode. QT came up and said the codec didn't exist on my system.
Hmmm, I could play it on my Powerbook and QT reports HDV 720p30 for the format.

Nice clip Council, BTW, no sound, is that OK?

--
Paolo
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 12:32 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,214
Got it, I changed the extention to m2t instead of MOV and then played it in WMP. Council, I'm sure your guys were thrilled with the quality. Camera was in motion and every hair accounted for.
Stephen L. Noe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 12:39 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
Nice job. Was this shot with the 16x lens? If so, I am impressed with the quality of the lens, not to say your work as well, very nice.

Maybe you could put up the finished piece when it is done.

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 02:05 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 245
Hello mate,

couldn't download the clip but thought the demo reel looked damn interesting. Thanks for sharing.

Greg
Greg Corke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 05:47 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 44
Stephen:
The clip was exported out of FCP 5 as HDV 72030p. I wanted to keep it full rez so you guys could drop onto your timelines to check it out.
BTW I used your scene file for this shoot.
Daniel:
Yes this was shot using the stock 16X lens. I was surprised too. I can only imagine what the 13X looks like.

Paolo: I left the audio out when I exported. Trying to keep the file size down.
Greg: Try changing the file extention as Stephen did to .m2t see if that works.

I'll post the final spot and some .jpgs of the rig later today. Oh yeah and Thanks for the props on the demo reel too.
Council Bradshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 10:28 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 40
crap, i cant open this bad boy up, i'm on a PC i dunno if that has anything to do with not being able to view, any way you can export as a different file?

your demo looks great BTW really sharp!
__________________
They are Them Moving Pictures
theyarethem.com
Jon Glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 10:31 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: LaSalle Ontario Canada
Posts: 289
Images: 5
I can't open. Don't even has a chance too rename it, just a "Q" with the questionmark on my middle of my screen. (I'm a PC guy)

Laszlo
Laszlo Horvath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 10:43 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Change the file extension to m2t.

It opens on my PC, but freezes about two seconds into the first scene.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 11:01 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ - USA
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Thomas
Change the file extension to m2t.

It opens on my PC, but freezes about two seconds into the first scene.
Froze on my PC and I couldn't open it on my Mac in QT or in FCP. Hmm....
Joel Aaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 11:22 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 173
Hey PC GUYS Download fix

Hey PC guys Download by saving target as > Choose your location. then change extention to .avi. It worked for me!!! The shots look really nice Council!!! Which lens did you use for the shoot?

Sorry I did not read all the posts Council I notice that you did use the stock lens very well done indeed. Now I have to go and see your reel.
Matthew Pugerude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 11:37 AM   #13
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joel Aaron
Froze on my PC and I couldn't open it on my Mac in QT or in FCP. Hmm....
Mac guys will need "AppleHDVCodec" component installed in their Macintosh HD/Library/Quicktime folder. If you have installed Final Cut Pro 5 it should be there. Apple HDV Codec is the wrapper that FCP5 holds 720P30 m2t in for editing.

If you don't have FCP5 installed, then try VLC or download MPEG Streamclip.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 11:52 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
On my PC, when renamed to .avi file, it still freezes about two seconds into it.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 12:20 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 40
wow i've tried all the extension changes, and it just is'nt working

is there a specific codec i need to play this? i've encountered this problem before with .mov files from a mac so i must be missing a codec, any help?
__________________
They are Them Moving Pictures
theyarethem.com
Jon Glen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network