hd100 in atlanta at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2006, 10:24 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: atlanta gA
Posts: 29
hd100 in atlanta

i have one still in the box I am thinking of selling on ebay, but i had a few questions first. What is the ease of use importing clips to a laptop. I have t23 ibm with 512mb ram p3 . I know its not the fastest but about how long would it take to import a 30 minute clip onto my computer
Charles Marshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2006, 02:31 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,214
Hi Charles,

If your talking about capturing a 30 minute clip it would take 30 minutes. Your laptop would have no problem capturing the clips. It would have a devil of a time editing them though. Capture is relatively processor "easy". Editing is processor "intensive" and hard and requires at least a P4 3.0 HT or equivalent for editing efficiently.

Any particular reason you're possibly selling?
Stephen L. Noe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2006, 01:17 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 184
The Z1U footage will be even harder (more processing power required) to edit because it is 1080i footage.

Also, I'm not sure how switching cameras is going to save you money; the Z1U is around $4,500.00 new and you aren't going to get that for your HD100 on Ebay (when you can buy the HD100 for $5,100 new). Did you mean the FX1?

Honestly you would be lucky to get $4,000.00 for your HD100 on Ebay.

Ben
__________________
Ben Buie, Producer
"On Our Way Up" - Shot Completely in HDV
http://www.onourwayup.com

HD Articles and Reviews at HDSource!
http://hdsource.highlydef.com
Ben Buie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2006, 11:25 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Buie
The Z1U footage will be even harder (more processing power required) to edit because it is 1080i footage.

Ben

More processing power? Isn't the data rate for HDV, whether it be 720p or 1080i, 25mbs?
DJ Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2006, 01:09 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
No.

1280X720 HDV (JVC) is 19mbs

1440x1080 HDV (Sony, Canon) is 25 mbs

The JVC image need less compression because it is working with less pixels. This allows the GOP to be 6 frames instead of 15 GOP like Sony and Canon. This makes the footage easier to edit with in its native format.

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2006, 11:54 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 97
Thanks dan; you learn something new every day. :)
DJ Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 03:41 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 212
Images: 8
Are you still selling this thing?
Tomas Chinchilla is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network