HD 100 Tape Hits at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 16th, 2006, 09:28 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 23
HD 100 Tape Hits

just bought my Hd 100 and went to shoot some HDV Video. I Used a brand new tape. When I uploaded the video and played it, I was getting several what looks like tape hits. Is this the problem I have been reading about on the threads? Any input would be appreciated.
David Kidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 09:30 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Media, PA
Posts: 144
We had some dropouts on the first tape we used on our camera. Just finished the second tape and there appears to be no problems.

I was recommended from several sources to run a tape cleaner on the camera before first use.
Tim Gray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 11:00 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 65
Drop outs have not been uncommon at all for me.
Hopefully the head problem is corrected in the hd100A
Albert Henson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 12:09 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Croydon, England
Posts: 277
On my HD101 I notice some disturbance at the beginning of shots - only within the first second or two of recording. I can live with it...
Paul Jefferies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 10:11 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Jefferies
On my HD101 I notice some disturbance at the beginning of shots - only within the first second or two of recording. I can live with it...
David, is this where you saw the hits? in the first second or two?
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 10:45 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
When you get a new HD100, It's been mentioned that it's a good idea to run a head cleaner once.

The first tape I used I had some drop-outs.
I ran a Panasonic head cleaner through it for 5 seconds and it now works fine.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2006, 11:35 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 184
You don't even need a head cleaner. The first time out, you should just run a normal tape though it. Do a preview rewind/fast forward so the tape makes contact with the head and just get any manufacturing dust off the head.
Tim Holtermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2006, 12:41 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 23
Thanks for the posts everyone...the hits happened while I was recording a sunset so the tape had been rolling for a while and it was random during the recording. I will run a tape thru it again this weekend and let everyone know how it worked out.
David Kidd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network