HD-100 Video capture Sudden FAILURE! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 6th, 2006, 11:10 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 104
HD-100 Video capture Sudden FAILURE!

Hi,

My HD-100 has performd perfectly for paying clients, until this week!

The camera shoots fine, records to tape and captures to PC or Mac in DV format.

The camera also would video capture HDV 30fps or HDV 24fps up until yesterday. I loaned the guy who directed our last music video the HD 100 to capture footage into his Mac with Lumiere HD. He says that he captured one clip then the Lumiere HD failed to recognize the camera and HDV 24fps footage the next morning.

I brought the camera home and attempted to re- capture footage I easily captured last week. Oops! The HD-100 is no longer recognized by HD Link, even running the same HDV 30fps video tape that I successfully captured last week.

a) Has any one on DVINFO encountered this failure in the HD-100u?

b) Is it possible the Mac box has damaged the HD-100?

c) Does JVC tech support know of any other users with failure to capture video issues?

Thanks for any help,

Ed Hill
__________________
Ed Hill
HighlyDef Productions, Atlanta, GA
prblog.edhillpr.com Video and Online Advertising
ed@highlydef.com
Ed Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 11:16 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: LaSalle Ontario Canada
Posts: 289
Images: 5
This happened with me about a year ago. My new computer's firewire connector's wires was hooked to the motherboard in the wrong order, and killed my firewire printer, and later my Panasonic DV VTR.
I don't say this happened at your friends place, but may worth to check that Mac computer's wireing

Laszlo
Laszlo Horvath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 11:23 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Do not hot swap the HD100's firewire!

In fact, it's not a bad idea to power down both the computer and camera's power before plugging in firewire.

It appears you need to send it to JVC to have them repair the firewire interface.

This has happened to others.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 11:59 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
The HD100 manual advices to connect the FW cable (and other cables as well) when the camera is off. I saw the same warning with other devices (my Ozonic keyboard, for example) and always connect my HD100 when it's off. I don't take the same step for my PowerBook but sometimes I put it to sleep, just in case.
A static spike could do a lot of damage.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 12:24 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Yes, it is the FW connection. We had this happen with a SONY VTR (XDCAM). It fried the FW circutry of the VTR and the dealer told us never to hot-swap FW cables. This was on a Mac.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 12:34 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
6-pin firewire connectors carry enough voltage to power small firewire drives, and therefore can fry the firewire board on the camera if there is a short. You don't hear about this sort of thing on cameras with the little 4-pin FW connectors.

We have seen this on a few occasions around here. As a general rule, plug the camera in when it is powered off!

However, to be on the safe side, you could buy a cable like this, which disables the bus power in the 6-pin cable.
http://fwdepot.com/thestore/product_...roducts_id/356
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 04:51 PM   #7
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Regardless of what they say about "hot swappable," I never plug in or unplug anything that's turned on. I've seen "hot swappable" drives fried when doing that.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2006, 10:34 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 104
Guys,

Thanks for solving the mystery.

I can always count on the DVINFO community to figure these things out.

Ed
__________________
Ed Hill
HighlyDef Productions, Atlanta, GA
prblog.edhillpr.com Video and Online Advertising
ed@highlydef.com
Ed Hill is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network