component output from camera at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 10th, 2006, 09:17 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
component output from camera

I have been trying to view footage from my HD100 via the component HD outputs.

I can play back footage from tape no problem, but I can't view images directly from the camera. I thought that the camera was able to output images via the component outputs live.

I may have a setting wrong, but I have been through the menu several times.

I do have the HDV PD setting at 1080i since my TV can only handle 1080i. Does the camera output only 720p live via the component outputs.

Any ideas?

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 09:33 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
Posts: 221
Daniel,

Interesting. I have always been able to see the component output to my 17" LCD HDTV live. However, it can handle both, 1080i and 720p, so I have not changed my camera PD settings. Just try it the other way around and maybe your TV handles the conversion from 720p to 1080i automatically; most of them do it.

Hope this helps,

Luis

PS
Make sure the output setting in your camera is in "automatic" and not in "component". Also, try it with a different set of cables...
Luis Otero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 10:07 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
Luis,

Thanks. I will try the automatic setting.

My TV is older and will only play 1080i footage.

Also, would the cables be the issue if I can play footage out off the tape?

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 11:00 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Weber
Does the camera output only 720p live via the component outputs.
The HD100 only does conversions (out the component input) from 720p to other rates/formats upon playback of a tape, not live.

It was because of this I had to sell an HD monitor I had bought and replace it with something that did 720p!
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 12:06 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
The HD100 only does conversions (out the component input) from 720p to other rates/formats upon playback of a tape, not live.

It was because of this I had to sell an HD monitor I had bought and replace it with something that did 720p!

Nate,

Thanks!!! I thought I was losing my mind. Which monitor do you use?

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 02:29 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
I had a Sony PHM-14M8U...a 14" HD CRT. Looked a lot like their PVM 14" SD monitors except had a 16x9 mask included. Manufactured in 1999.

After I got it home I found out that a lot of Sony HD monitors earlier than 2001 or so only work with 1080i signals...ones marked with "HDVS" on the bezels.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 03:36 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Weber
Luis,

Thanks. I will try the automatic setting.

My TV is older and will only play 1080i footage.

Also, would the cables be the issue if I can play footage out off the tape?

Dan Weber
Dan,

Yes, the cables also could (personal experience tought me...) be the reason for playback tapes. However, it seems other posting have helped you on pin-pointing the issue (monitor 1080i).

Luis
Luis Otero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 04:33 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
I had a Sony PHM-14M8U...a 14" HD CRT. Looked a lot like their PVM 14" SD monitors except had a 16x9 mask included. Manufactured in 1999.

After I got it home I found out that a lot of Sony HD monitors earlier than 2001 or so only work with 1080i signals...ones marked with "HDVS" on the bezels.
Nate,

What monitor do you now use to view your 720p footage?

Thanks,

dan weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 06:17 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
I now have two: a JVC DT-V2000SU (a 20" monitor) for edit, and a Sony BVM-D9H1U (9") for field.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 06:37 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate Weaver
I now have two: a JVC DT-V2000SU (a 20" monitor) for edit, and a Sony BVM-D9H1U (9") for field.
Nate,

Thanks for the info. I need to research a new monitor for field use. I will use your info as a start.

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network