Using the JVC deck or not? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 10th, 2006, 03:50 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 40
Using the JVC deck or not?

i'm curious how many of you JVCHD100 users picked up the JVC deck as well for playback/capture...or are you just using the camera to play back and capture in to your NLE?
__________________
They are Them Moving Pictures
theyarethem.com
Jon Glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 06:36 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 72
Firestore

Have you considered just getting the firestore? 80gb is roughly $1700. there's no need for a deck. saves wear and tear on the camera. just a thought.
Yoochul Chong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 06:42 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
It's a good deck (so far). It interfaces well with FCP and it downconverts HD to SD via the analog outputs. The menu is controlled by buttons on the deck not via a remote.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 06:54 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ofallon missouri
Posts: 123
Drhd 100

is definatly the way to go as its cheaper option than the player recorder.
I got mine for 1535.00.
Shawn Kessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 08:34 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 40
well that's the thing, i guess i'm curious about how realistic that is as an option, to just record to the firestore and dump from that into my NLE.....so far sounds VERY realistic.

you guys are'nt having any issues with dropped frames or anything weird like that?
__________________
They are Them Moving Pictures
theyarethem.com
Jon Glen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 09:25 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: venice, ca
Posts: 83
I cannot get fcp to see my jvc deck at all. Any ideas?

on the other note.

I support it mostly because even with a fire store I still want somthing on tape, plus I don't like to edit with my camera, little old fashion I know.
Jeff Morrissette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2006, 11:46 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Morrissette
...I still want somthing on tape, plus I don't like to edit with my camera, little old fashion I know.
Not at all! Anyone who can afford a deck should get one. It will save the wear and tear on the camera. Cameras are designed to record to tape and at a crunch to review what was shot. Decks are designed to withstand the tape shuffling back and forth that is typical of logging and editing. Bottom line.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 12:42 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: venice, ca
Posts: 83
Thanks. The whole reason I went with jvc besides I feel the 720 is more robust but the deck is a real deck unlike the sony, in my opinon.

I like it alot I just wish I wasn't having so may problems getting fcp to see it.

I tired lumiere and still nothing.
Although I get the impression you cannot log in luminere, is that true?
Jeff Morrissette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 12:57 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: venice, ca
Posts: 83
I also work in avid too, if anyone has this deck working with the mac version of avid I would love any feedback.

Kinda figures, avid pc supports the brhd50 and I just switched to apple with both avid and final cut and neither of them claim to support it. 8P
Jeff Morrissette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 04:51 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Scotland (UK)
Posts: 219
Hi Jon - Yes we bought the deck, partly because we needed another Mini DV deck to replace ageing equipment - so we need the ability to play mini dv tapes from other sources anyway. The deck really is very well laid out and is a pleasure to use - to second what Jiri said - if you can afford one it is worth the purchase. Although we will also use the DR100 (on order) when it arrives, we will also continue to back up onto tape for the more important jobs.

Jeff... What Version FCP? How are you connecting the deck to your Mac?

Stu...
www.studioscotland.co.uk
Stewart Menelaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 07:39 AM   #11
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
The Firestores certainly do sound like they are a simple workflow, faster and easier than a deck. BUT- it is a hard drive, and hard drives will fail at one point or another... usually when you need it the most, and have nothing backed up. Damn you Murphy!

Anyways, just having a tape in your cam as a backup, can save the day. And, if you need to capture that tape's footage, you either need a deck, or your cam. So, I can't see any reason to not have a deck, aside from not being able to afford one.
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 09:05 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Morrissette
I also work in avid too, if anyone has this deck working with the mac version of avid I would love any feedback.
I do and it works fine for ingest. Just about any deck template will do, even SONY DSR11. I use it controlled by RS422 through a Keyspan adaptor. It doesn't, however, work for recording back to tape -- yet. So I have to use my DSR-11 for that. I believe that the problem is an Avid issue that has to do with the deck template and my hope is that after NAB there is going to be an upgrade that will solve this. FYI: my Avid version is AXP 4.8 (Mac). So, of course, we are talking about using the deck in SD or downconvert mode.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 09:47 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Glen
i'm curious how many of you JVCHD100 users picked up the JVC deck as well for playback/capture...or are you just using the camera to play back and capture in to your NLE?
What deck are we talking about?
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 10:08 AM   #14
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
I'm sure he's talking about the... what is it? BR-50?
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2006, 10:48 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: venice, ca
Posts: 83
Yes Br50 JVC. It's connected via firewire and I have final cut 5 (not 5.1 upgrade) apple said the new upgrade would not support it. ALso 10.4.6 is the os.
Jeff Morrissette is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network