How do I capture 60p VIA the component outs? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2006, 11:51 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 82
How do I capture 60p VIA the component outs?

Alright, so i need to do slow-motion in the field. Thus necessitating the ability to capture 60P in the field. What components do i need and roughly how much do they cost?
__________________
Thanks!
Adam Craig
Los Angeles, CA
www.showiki.com - Entertainment Biz Wiki
www.filmexposure.org - My Media Company
Adam Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2006, 09:34 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
There are a few uncompressed options.

1. The Wafian. Here's a photo I took at the JVC booth:
http://www.TimDashwood.com/.Pictures/NAB2006/Wafian.JPG

2. Decklink HD Extreme. Blackmagic just released this new card last week for $999. It now has analog YRB component in. I've used a blackmagic decklink before with the HD100/FCP/multibridge and it works well.

3. Kona is an alternative option to the decklink.

Option 1 is standalone. Option 2 & 3 require a desktop computer.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2006, 10:54 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
One of my shooters "accidentally" shot a long form seminar in HDV 24p.

We captured through the component outputs and it worked great.

just coupled the outputs to the input of my blackmagic design multibridge extreme.

worked like a champ!

The footage was supposed to be DV24p, so we also used the built in hardware down converter in the multibridge and captured it as anamorphic sd. Turned out great!
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 04:30 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 51
When i use the DEcklink HD Extreme for capturing via analog YRB component, u think if it's possible to do the batch capture? BEcause i don't know if the analog YRB component has the time code out put or not.
Trung Dau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 09:05 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Images: 11
Firestore FS4-Pro HD

When doing many test a few weeks back, I recall capturing HDV 60P to the Firestore copied it to my internal hard drive and loaded into a Premiere 2.0 HDV project. I had to render it but it was great slow-motion. I will test this again in the morning to make sure of the exact setting I had.
__________________
Chris Lognion
Chris Lognion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 09:49 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 512
Are you sure? As far as I know there is no way to get 60 fps out of the camera via Firewire except by shooting 480p. You can only get 720p60 by capturing the raw analog component output from the camera. The upconversion from 480p to 720p doesn't look too bad unless you're going to blow it up even further (i.e. film transfer or large format digital projection), but it's still not native 720p.
Stephan Ahonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 09:49 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 82
Are you sure? What mode did you put the camera in to do this? I've very interested in capturing 60p with the HD100.
__________________
Thanks!
Adam Craig
Los Angeles, CA
www.showiki.com - Entertainment Biz Wiki
www.filmexposure.org - My Media Company
Adam Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 03:06 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trung Dau
When i use the DEcklink HD Extreme for capturing via analog YRB component, u think if it's possible to do the batch capture? BEcause i don't know if the analog YRB component has the time code out put or not.
You're correct, there's no timecode. With the Wafian you get a bunch of .AVI (Cineform codec) files named the way you want, you'll have to slate the shots and synchronize sound manually.
It works pretty well, my main gripe is the UI, not nearly as good as it should be and you want to use the unit with a full size monitor and mouse.
On the other hand it seems to be working very well.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 05:33 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tokyo/Sydney
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Lognion
When doing many test a few weeks back, I recall capturing HDV 60P to the Firestore copied it to my internal hard drive and loaded into a Premiere 2.0 HDV project. I had to render it but it was great slow-motion. I will test this again in the morning to make sure of the exact setting I had.
I thought 60p Via firewire is not possible on the HD100?
__________________
"eyes through a digital world"
Jemore Santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 10:19 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Images: 11
Hdv-sd60p

OK here's the deal. I repeated the test I did a few weeks ago. It's definitely a 720x480 image. I place the camera in HDV-SD60P recording format and connected the Firestore FS4Pro HD set to record in HD. I then brought the file into a Matrox DV Widescreen project, The propery value shows 59.94 fps, I then interpeted the footage as 29.97 and it played back in slow motion. I'm not sure why it has to be in an HDV setting other than it is recording a true 60P image and DV cannot handle the data???
__________________
Chris Lognion
Chris Lognion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 09:57 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 512
The HDV stream is 60p no matter what, that's simply the HDV standard. However, the footage itself is 30 fps with a "repeat frame" flag on every other frame, embedded within the 60 fps stream.
Stephan Ahonen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network