Anyone using the JVC DR-HD100-40 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2006, 08:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Anyone using the JVC DR-HD100-40

Hi Gang,

Is anyone using the JVC DR-HD100-40 (or 80) Firewire Hard drive for capturing yet?

And if you are, is this a way to get 24p into FCP pro to cut?

Thanks for any info.

Tom Chaney
Tom Chaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 08:51 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
If you use the Firestore to record .m2t in 24p HDV, you can process the file with MPEGSTREAMCLIP to get a 24P DVCPRO HD file.

Right now, that's the only option.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 09:13 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16
So if you export the mt2 file as DVCPRO HD 24p would it still maintain the full 1280x720 or would it be 960x720? If it does maintain the full 1280x720 isn't this a better option anyways?
Matthew McKane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 09:16 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew McKane
So if you export the mt2 file as DVCPRO HD 24p would it still maintain the full 1280x720 or would it be 960x720? If it does maintain the full 1280x720 isn't this a better option anyways?
I tested this workflow with someone elses clips that I downloaded, and the frame size can be sent as 1280x720. The problem I have is getting the 60FPS back to 24FPS? I really want to get this Hard Drive so I am testing this out. Eventually a Quicktime Wrapper Firmware Updates appears to be coming out, but until it does, I would like to know how to extract the 24 Frames with proper audio?
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 09:28 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16
Well thats good news about the full 1280x720. If your using a mac you should be able to extract the 24p from the 60p.
Matthew McKane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 09:45 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 82
Waaaaait, I thought the JVC can only send 60p via the composite outs, not firewire. Am I wrong?
__________________
Thanks!
Adam Craig
Los Angeles, CA
www.showiki.com - Entertainment Biz Wiki
www.filmexposure.org - My Media Company
Adam Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2006, 10:08 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam Craig
Waaaaait, I thought the JVC can only send 60p via the composite outs, not firewire. Am I wrong?
Adam, the 24p mpeg stream masquerades as a 60p stream to be able to lay 24 frames inside a known MPEG stream framerate. It's an issue of MPEG spec semantics. There's not 60 unique frames coming out firewire.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 04:11 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 173
JVC DR-HD100-40 (or 80) Firewire Hard drive, Not Worth it...yet

What is the point to buying this if you don't get instant
editing abilities in 720 24p?

Can someone explain why it cannot record in 720 24p Quicktime format?
Rob Stiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 04:40 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Stiff
What is the point to buying this if you don't get instant
editing abilities in 720 24p?

Can someone explain why it cannot record in 720 24p Quicktime format?
Can someone explain how to extract the 24 Frames From the 60 that are recorded. I imported the clip into Cinema Tools, and cannot preform a reverse pulldown.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 05:11 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks for all the info guys.

The big advantage is a backup to tape. But I also thought that it may be a workaround to the 24P issue.

Sounds like it's not there yet.

We have started shooting a film, and are doing 9 more days in July. I thought this might be a nice option.
Tom Chaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 08:26 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ft. Myers, FL
Posts: 240
I have the DR-HD100 and presently it does not save files in quicktime format, but rather MPEG-2. FCPro does not directlty read MPEG-2 files.
Focus Enhancements is working on a firmware upgrade to support QT and FCPro. I was told 1 month, about 2 weeks ago by Technical Support.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, The files recorded in 24p are actually stored as 60p (59.94) and the 24 frames are arrayed within this 60p file by doubling some frames, and some are singles. These frames are flagged for cadence and extracting into a true 24p (23.97) file or for playback.

I'm not sure of the correct way to properly decode the 60p to 24p and maintain this cadence saved in the file. My attempts with Cinematools have been futile.

I have been using 60p (59.94) files and timelines and avoiding it all together. Granted, this takes up more disk space. But the source files are 59.94 anyway.

MPEG Streamclip can export the M2t files to just about any Quicktime format, and codec you want. So you could even export to uncompressed HD.


Dave
Dave Beaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 10:01 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Beaty
I have the DR-HD100 and presently it does not save files in quicktime format, but rather MPEG-2. FCPro does not directlty read MPEG-2 files.
Focus Enhancements is working on a firmware upgrade to support QT and FCPro. I was told 1 month, about 2 weeks ago by Technical Support.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, The files recorded in 24p are actually stored as 60p (59.94) and the 24 frames are arrayed within this 60p file by doubling some frames, and some are singles. These frames are flagged for cadence and extracting into a true 24p (23.97) file or for playback.

I'm not sure of the correct way to properly decode the 60p to 24p and maintain this cadence saved in the file. My attempts with Cinematools have been futile.

I have been using 60p (59.94) files and timelines and avoiding it all together. Granted, this takes up more disk space. But the source files are 59.94 anyway.

MPEG Streamclip can export the M2t files to just about any Quicktime format, and codec you want. So you could even export to uncompressed HD.


Dave
The program is great at conversion, as I havve tried out several options. I hope that the Focus Releases this quicktime thing soon.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 10:39 AM   #13
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Beaty
I
Someone correct me if I'm wrong, The files recorded in 24p are actually stored as 60p (59.94) and the 24 frames are arrayed within this 60p file by doubling some frames, and some are singles. These frames are flagged for cadence and extracting into a true 24p (23.97) file or for playback.
Dave
Nearly right - the repeat frames don't really exist at all - they are only flags in the 60P MPEG stream and JVC uses the 3:2 advanced pulldown method. So the codec works more efficiently because there is only 24 frames of "real" data encoded into the 60P stream.

Steve Mullen has gone into the nitty gritty on this and can probably explain it better in terms of IPB frames.

The problem seems to be that, while many NLE's support advanced pulldown for other codecs like DVCPro, hardly any support the HDV codec natively at that framerate (or 50/25 for that matter).
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 12:25 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
For those reading, this is mainly an FCP/Apple issue. On windows there are software options that work fine. (Cineform, Vegas, PremierPro...)
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2006, 06:48 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Carney
For those reading, this is mainly an FCP/Apple issue. On windows there are software options that work fine. (Cineform, Vegas, PremierPro...)
Regarding the Apple situation, in SD if I want to shoot in 24P, which pulldown would I chose to send to the DR-HD100. Also since Quicktime 24 is an option on the DR-HD100, what happens from that point? Do the clips import into FCP in 24 FPS, or do they require pulldown?
Steve Benner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network