Editing workflow & codecs on the Mac - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 9th, 2006, 02:25 PM   #16
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn Kessler
hay steve would you mind explaining to me why I get so many dropped
frames when i edit native HDV in final cut pro. ive got 2.7 power mac
with 4.5 gigs of ram. it droppes frames every time. sorry dont believe you!
When you say dropped frames, do you mean during capture or during preview.

I capture on a G4 iBook (1GB) with no dropped frames.

I previewG4 iBook (1GB), even with CC and other filters, without dropped frames.

So you've got a problem with your system.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 05:51 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ft. Myers, FL
Posts: 240
One of the simplest problems that causes dropped frames on playback is the viewer and canvas window size. Set these to "fit all". I think thats the correct one to use. Sometimes I inadvertently zoom in a window while working on a sequence. Same keys zoom the timeline and zoom the window. Suddenly playback get's choppy. Check that on your list of troubleshooting.

I get smooth HDV playback, realtime transitions, realtime titles and realtime color correction. Not sure how much is my Dual 2.3 and how much is the Aja Kona board. Today I tried to add a realtime TC Generator filter, but that pushed it over the limit and I had to render.

Changing the system prefs for playback also allows more realtime at the expense of lower quality and dropping frames. Good for previewing, though.

DB
Dave Beaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 06:50 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Mullen
When you say dropped frames, do you mean during capture or during preview.

I capture on a G4 iBook (1GB) with no dropped frames.

I previewG4 iBook (1GB), even with CC and other filters, without dropped frames.

So you've got a problem with your system.
Since it works on your system, you don't think I will have a problem with the JVC on my Powerbook (G4, 1.33 GHZ, 2 Gig Ram)? I have FCp 5.1.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2006, 04:43 AM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ofallon missouri
Posts: 123
fcp dropped frames

Accually it dropped frames only in the sequence. But ive sience figured out the problem. seems there was settings in the sequence properties set
to 100% changed them to 50 and bam! no more dropped frames.
Shawn Kessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2006, 10:36 AM   #20
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 2
workflow and codecs

Our temporary workaround for the 24P issue (until FCP supports this frame rate) was to shoot in 720/24P, capture by having the BR-HD50 deck output 720/60P via the component out (deck control via Firewire), and have Blackmagic capture 720/60P using the DVCPRO codec. We can edit seamlessly and the results are beautiful.

michael
Michael Udris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2006, 11:22 AM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Udris
Our temporary workaround for the 24P issue (until FCP supports this frame rate)...
So FCP5 DOES NOT support JVC 24p?
DJ Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2006, 11:38 AM   #22
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Lewis
So FCP5 DOES NOT support JVC 24p?
Currently it doesn't. Apple has demostrated a beta version at NAB that supported HDV 24fcp natively. No dates have been announced for the availability.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2006, 11:42 AM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Lewis
So FCP5 DOES NOT support JVC 24p?
FCP cannot caputre the 720/24P from the JVC until the NAB update is released. FCP cannot edit native HDV without a quicktime wrapper, so the HDD drives also do not work until their firmware gets updated.

Currently, HDVxDV and Lumeire HD can capture the 24 Frames, but this is an involved process. I am getting this camera later in the day, and I don't NEED the 720/24P right now so I can wait a month or two.

For the record, the NAB update that allows for 720/24P capture should be a downloadable release in the next month or so.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network