Time Lapse on JVC - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 14th, 2006, 01:34 PM   #16
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 3
HDV Time Lapse

Without using a deck or firestore, is there any program or setting that i could use that would allow me to capture HDV time lapse footage over an hour long? (i.e. longer than a HDV/DV tape and just imported directly onto my macBook Pro)
Stephen Stuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2006, 06:42 PM   #17
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 855
Originally Posted by Robert Schaller
Unfortunately, iStopMotion WILL NOT work over firewire with an HDV camera. The "Help" file for their software (version 1.10.1) states:

"StopMotion does not currently support HDV or MPEG-4 cameras as QuickTime provides no support for these technologies at the moment."

It will work with the Kona card, but this is of no value outside the editing suite, which is not where I, at least, really want to do time lapse recording.

Is there any tool out there that will capture HD as HDV over firewire to do time lapse? Or, what about Steve Benner's question about using the DR-HD100 to do time lapse -- and can that do full HD? Or, do we wait for something like the Vydeo Express Card 34 that was linked to elsewhere (and I can't find the thread) that will allow HD input into a laptop?

Real HD (V) time lapse would be very, very useful.
Do you know of any other software that will permit me to use the HD100 with firewire and get the timelapse footage I need? Thanks
Visit me and my work at www.artofduke.com
Brian Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2006, 09:15 PM   #18
Regular Crew
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 123
I do a good bit of time lapse and I don't know of any good field method that works with the HD100 (FireStore unit doesn't support HDV time lapse, nor does iStopMotion, tape method limits you to an hour and is cumbersome).

I find a digital still camera to be a much better way to go. Both Canon and Nikon models offer provisions for interval shooting either through a laptop interface, a plug in unit, or as a built in feature. Yes, it is more expensive, but the results are amazing - over 4k if you really want it.
Andy Young
Director/DP www.ArchipelagoFilms.com
VP, Special Projects www.DuArt.com
Andrew Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2006, 11:06 PM   #19
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 27
I believe the new version of DV Rack 2.0 has an intervalometer feature.


Keith Nealy
Keith Nealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2006, 01:07 AM   #20
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 1,315
Yes the new HDVrack has this feature. Very cool. Another option is to capture (using HDVrack or VLC player or whatever) to a PC or laptop with a big drive, as straight footage. At only 10 gig an hour you can fit a hella-lotta footage on one drive, then reduce the frame rate. Not sure of the most elagent way to do this, but I'm sure a few smart people could give some very easy solutions to take frames from footage. The cool part of that approach is that sometimes there is great action in a timelaps senario (we don't all do claymation). Normally that action is lost. Not so if you captured it in real-time ;>)
Picture this: High speed time-laps of day to night with setting sun and rise of the moon. At the moment the moon reaches full view you slow down to a nice fluid speed. Can't do that with regular time-laps. My mind just exploded will all of the possibilities of doing time-laps this way, and I'm seeing visions of those cool NY day to night traffic scenes shown in the brilliant Baraka. This could only be improved if one shot native 60p to start. Uhmm, gotta go try something out.
Damnit Jim, I'm a film maker not a sysytems tech.
Ken Hodson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2006, 11:47 AM   #21
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 247
Here is what I did to get TL on my hd110.
Since I have a Citidisc 100gb...
This is for the Dallas Skyline day to night...

Set the camera up, shutter at 15, iris closed
no tape, hit the record button on the drive, adjusted the iris in very small increments through the night.
converted the footage via mpegstreamclip to AIC 720p24, speed up the footage to 10,000 times in the timeline.


Looks good.

I just dont have a host to put the video up.
Jim Fields is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network