Did I just find a new recording option on HD100??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 21st, 2006, 08:03 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Did I just find a new recording option on HD100???

Hey cats,

I just discovered that I can record in a format called HDV-SD60P.

???

This is new to me.
Does it mean that I can record HD footage with a Live at Five video look in addition to 24p HD??

Kellly
Kelly Ziolkoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2006, 08:12 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelly Ziolkoski
Hey cats,

I just discovered that I can record in a format called HDV-SD60P.

???

This is new to me.
Does it mean that I can record HD footage with a Live at Five video look in addition to 24p HD??

Kellly
This is not hidden from the people here, but it is a lesser known function of the HD100. It also can shoot SD-50. Both can be used in SD for Undercranking or Upconverted nicely to HD.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2006, 08:27 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
But it says "HDV-SD60p"

Does that mean it records to tape in HD??

Kelly
Kelly Ziolkoski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2006, 08:40 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelly Ziolkoski
But it says "HDV-SD60p"

Does that mean it records to tape in HD??

Kelly
Hi Kelly,

check in your manual. The HDV60 in SD mode is explained.
Stephen L. Noe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2006, 08:53 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelly Ziolkoski
But it says "HDV-SD60p"

Does that mean it records to tape in HD??

Kelly
It is a SD format that is put to tape in the HDV recording specs meaning that it used MPEG 2 GOP Compression. The upress looks nice even though it is not HD.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2006, 09:57 PM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Benner
It is a SD format that is put to tape in the HDV recording specs meaning that it used MPEG 2 GOP Compression. The upress looks nice even though it is not HD.
The 720 x576/480 50/60P is classified correctly as Extended definition. Not high definition, but better than standard definition (more info because it is not fielded)
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2006, 06:32 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Mitchell
The 720 x576/480 50/60P is classified correctly as Extended definition. Not high definition, but better than standard definition (more info because it is not fielded)
That sounds about right, but it IS NOT High Def. The HD200 is the camera that can does this. The HD100 also can do 720/60, but only through the component outs.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2006, 09:13 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
Since with SD we are limited to 24p/25p/30p in a way the SD60P is kind of like HD. You do not gain extra detail in each frame but you do gain double the amount of detail over time because the framerate is double.

This really is a great format that does not get much recognition yet.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2006, 10:20 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Smet
Since with SD we are limited to 24p/25p/30p in a way the SD60P is kind of like HD. You do not gain extra detail in each frame but you do gain double the amount of detail over time because the framerate is double.

This really is a great format that does not get much recognition yet.
I agree that it is a great format that does go unnoticed, but it is not HD resolution as you would get from the componet outs or the HD200/250.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2006, 10:12 PM   #10
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Smet
Since with SD we are limited to 24p/25p/30p in a way the SD60P is kind of like HD. You do not gain extra detail in each frame but you do gain double the amount of detail over time because the framerate is double.

This really is a great format that does not get much recognition yet.
It can be a difficult concept to grasp but you do get more detail temporally, because every 50th or 60th second in Standard def the picture is in reality only half the number of lines vertically. So if you slice this format up to how much information is actually captured at a particular moment or period of time it is actually twice as much definition.
Interlacing is a cheat designed to fool the human brain into thinking that all the vertical detail is there, when in reality it isn't. When you attempt to scale interlaced footage that cheat comes back to bite you - you have to de-interlace, interpolate and take a less than perfect frame and scale.
This is why it is easier and cleaner to scale up to higher resolutions.
I agree that it is a terrific format.
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2006, 12:38 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Forest Park, IL
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Benner
This is not hidden from the people here, but it is a lesser known function of the HD100. It also can shoto SD-50. Both can be used in SD for Undercranking or Upconverted nicely to HD.
One thing it has in common with HD, I think, is that SD60P defaults to widescreen aspect.

Steve, can you help me understand how upconverting from SD to HD is done? I see terms like that a lot, but I don't quite know what there are referring to. If I upconvert SD60P to something else in HD, what does it become, and how do I get it there?
Stephen Knapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2006, 09:39 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Knapp
Steve, can you help me understand how upconverting from SD to HD is done? I see terms like that a lot, but I don't quite know what there are referring to. If I upconvert SD60P to something else in HD, what does it become, and how do I get it there?
It depends on your NLE/Compositing sw. In FCP you drop the clip in the timeline and the click on Motion tab and increse the Scale value until you reach the full frame.
You can see an example, including the use of HD-SD50 for slomo, here http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=70005
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2006, 10:20 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Forest Park, IL
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolo Ciccone
It depends on your NLE/Compositing sw. In FCP you drop the clip in the timeline and the click on Motion tab and increse the Scale value until you reach the full frame.
You can see an example, including the use of HD-SD50 for slomo, here http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=70005
Thanks, Paolo. Now that I know it's not a camera question but a software one, I will take the question to some PPro users. But there is a tag along question that I know is going to come up when I talk to them, that IS camera related. What is the native pixel aspect for HDV SD60P in the JVC HD100? When I try to capture that format on my system using two different sotware approaches from Cineform, I get files in two different pixel aspects and the screen comes out in different ratios. So I'm not really sure what the native pixel aspect SHOULD be. Shouldn't that always be the same for the camera setting, or does it vary by the capture environment?

What is the pixel aspect on the native SD60P from the HD100 when you do captures in FCP?
Stephen Knapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2006, 10:46 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Knapp
What is the native pixel aspect for HDV SD60P in the JVC HD100?
It's 16:9 480 progressive lines.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2006, 11:10 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 590
I capture the raw .m2t file and then import into MPEG STREAMCLIP. I then upscale to 1280 X 720 to either HDV or AIC and keep the frame rate at 59.96. I then import it to Cinema Tools and Conform to the desired frame rate. This provides very good results.

I hear that Aspect HD by Magic Bullet is great and they have a free trial but there is a specific workflow involved that I need to figure out.
Steve Benner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network