Mode Changing problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 21st, 2006, 05:30 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 114
Mode Changing problem

I see a thread all about it, and carl hicks addresses it as the camera needs to be upgraded, well if i just got this thing and its version A, why would I need to do that. It seems this mode changing issue could be why I can't capture HD. Any insight would be helpfull
Matt Setnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2006, 09:58 PM   #2
JVC America
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 516
Support

Hi Matt,

Below is some info that may be helpful to you in terms of getting help:



JVC is anxious to help any customer with their technical issues. In order to help, we often need to talk to you by phone. Since many of you do your work out in the field, (as do I and my colleagues) and do not keep regular office hours, it is often challenging to get you in touch with the right people who can help you with a solution. Please keep these points in mind that will help facilitate help for your issue:

1. Contacting your reseller for support should be your first step. Often, the reseller can provide an answer, or can contact their JVC Pro Rep who can then assist you directly, or put you in touch with the Regional Sales Engineer for your area.

2. The Pro Customer Care Center Tech support phone number is 1-800-582-5825. This line is manned from 9 AM to 5 PM Eastern Time. For those of you in other time zones please do the appropriate conversion. And yes, some times it might not be answered as quickly during a heavy call period, or during lunchtime. Overall, our phone log tracking system shows that most calls are answered in just a few minutes.

3. If your issue is not resolved with the above call, then send me a private e-mail from this forum, with your full name, address, daytime phone number and times that you can be called, e-mail address, description of problem, and serial number. I will route your info to someone in support or engineering that can contact you to assist.

The key point here is that if you have an issue, please take the steps needed to get your reseller and possibly JVC involved in finding a solution. Sometimes, it's necessary to take a step beyond just posting the problem on a forum.

Regards, Carl

P.S. The above phone number and e-mail instructions apply only to U.S. customers.
__________________
Carl Hicks
JVC Professional Products Company
__________________
Carl Hicks
JVC Professional Products Company
Carl Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 03:53 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 114
Thanks Carl. I called friday, but when i was transferred I was told it was too late already. But anyways, I can now capture HD from HDLink if I do this.....Hit start, it send the signal to play...but the problem is the mode changing message and blue flickering stops the software from capturing, meanwhile the cam is still rolling, so I found I can just cheat it by hitting start for the 2nd time while its already rolling and be able to capture. I read on the forums of cineform that people are having the same problem.

I will also get some flicker when rebooting...is this normal for anyone?

Anyways, thanks again Carl, even though you couldn't help, it really brings me closure to know a JVC rep is here listening. I really appreciate that. I'll call Monday.
Matt Setnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 03:59 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingman Arizona
Posts: 298
When I reboot, the screen kind of flickers for a second. Seems normal but I am not sure if this is what you are describing.
Jonathan Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 05:18 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 114
yep, that's it. I would think it would be normal if it was a clean flicker....but its not. I'm gonna take snapshots of all these flaws soon, then I'd like to know whether its normal or not
Matt Setnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 05:51 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kingman Arizona
Posts: 298
Does it look like this?

If it does, then I am pretty sure it is normal. Both my jvc's do that.
Attached Files
File Type: wmv hd100reboot.wmv (489.3 KB, 103 views)
Jonathan Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2006, 05:54 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 114
You beat me to it , but yea that's it.
Matt Setnes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network