HD100 and Red Rock Micro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 23rd, 2006, 05:37 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 35
HD100 and Red Rock Micro

Has anyone here used the red rock micro in conjunction with the HD100? The company claims that the unit is hd100 compatible but they have no test footage. I've searched the web and have found nothing as far as HD100 footage is concerned with that unit... Has anyone had any experience with the two? What were your impressions and evaluations? Any example footage?
Ralph Sturgess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 03:06 AM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: portland oregon
Posts: 73
Check out the forum over at redrock. I believe that one of the moderators (Brian Valente) has this very set-up for his personal camera.
Scott Tebeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2006, 07:53 AM   #3
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
I haven't use it but I stopped at the RedRock booth at CineGear and saw it mounted on the HD100. There is also plenty of posts in this forum of you do a search for past discussions. The M2 works with the HD100, there is an article on Cinereel magazine about it. The easiest config is probably the one with the Nikon lenses. The system rests on the stock lens and is held in place by the support rods used by a matte box. If you have a Chrosziel then you just need the extended rods provided by RedRock.
It works but at the present time it's quite easy to move it out of place given the configuration. There is a bit of flex in the system and, because it doesn't clamp to the lens, sudden movements, even with the tripod, can move it far enough to require recalibration.
Other than that it's pretty impressive. The Nikon lenses giv eyou a good compromise because they are small enouhg and good enough to give you depth of field. Canon lenses can't be used *properly* since they have electronic iris adjustment so you need the lens mounted on a Canon camera body in order to do that. Not practical.
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network