SD 60P Help to get into FCP! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 30th, 2006, 05:41 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 52
SD 60P Help to get into FCP!

Shot some slow mo and having difficulty getting footage into a standard def timeline in FCP. Used AIC on the fly digitizer and then can open in Cinema Tools and see it, but when trying to output to a 29.97 timeline and bring back into Final cut, then it's just a green box in the viewer and unable to show. footage or render it into the timeline. Also when clicking on the properties of clip it shows 8 hundred and something by 480 instead of 720X480, so the AIC digitizing seems to make it that way and there is no way to force it into 720X480. Anybody have a detailed workflow out there? Or some advice?
Keith Gruchala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 05:56 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
can you import it into mpeg streamclip?

You could probably fix it there.
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2006, 10:36 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
I've never captured 480P60 with the AIC digitizer, so I'm not sure if that method even works properly.

The method I have always used is to capture an m2t of the 480P60 footage with either DVHSCap or HDVxDV. I then simply use MPEGStreamclip to upconvert to 720P60 or 480P60 in another codec (AIC, DV , DVCPRO, etc.)

Then use Cinema Tools to conform to 23.98 or 29.97 fps and import into FCP.

Here's a sample:
http://homepage.mac.com/timdashwood/...lo-mo_test.mov
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2006, 07:00 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 52
slow mo trouble

Is DVHSCap the free program on the apple site? Trying to make this happen without buying extra programs. What about MPEGStream clip? Where to get and how much?
Keith Gruchala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 12:36 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 512
I'm going to guess the new resolution is 848x480. What's probably happening is the converter is stretching the source video so the pixels are square. It just doesn't like non-square pixels or something. This shouldn't be too much of a problem, since it's an adjustment you'll be making anyway when you stretch it out to 1280x720.
Stephan Ahonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2006, 01:20 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 786
Keith,

Yes, both MPEGSTREAMCLIP and DVHSCap are free.

You can get them from:

http://www.squared5.com/svideo/mpeg-streamclip-mac.html

and

http://developer.apple.com/sdk/#FireWireX

(part of the “FireWire SDK 20” package )
David Knaggs is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network