Capture workflow with FCP5? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 19th, 2006, 02:35 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 26
Capture workflow with FCP5?

Help! I am struggling, ney, failing to be able to capture footage from my HD100 on to my G5 using Final cut pro.
I am very unfamiliar with my new camera and I'm not the world's most technical person.
Can anyone also recommend any good training materials for this camera?
Any help much appreciated.
Martin ODonnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 10:09 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin ODonnell
Help! I am struggling, ney, failing to be able to capture footage from my HD100 on to my G5 using Final cut pro.
I am very unfamiliar with my new camera and I'm not the world's most technical person.
Can anyone also recommend any good training materials for this camera?
Any help much appreciated.
Is the footage in 24/25fps?
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 12:01 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 26
Capturing footage on FCP 5 with HD100

Thanks for your reply Paul.
Forgive my ignorance but I think it's the standard one (not film frame) of 25fps.
I am asking a lot from the members on here really. I need a step by step approach. Once I get the footage captured I'm relatively ok.
And once I've completed the exercise once believe me I'll remember it!
Thanks

Martin
Martin ODonnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 12:40 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin ODonnell
Thanks for your reply Paul.
Forgive my ignorance but I think it's the standard one (not film frame) of 25fps.
Final Cut supports, at the moment, capture of only 30p with the HD100. You can edit at 25fps but you cannot, yet, capture the footage at that frame rate. You need a free program by Apple called DVHSCap, cvheck in this forum, I listed the link a few days ago, and MPEGStream Clip (google it) for converting the footage to QuickTime. I suggest to use AIC as your destination codec. From there you just need to Cmd-I to import the .mov files into your FCP project.
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network