a quick question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 5th, 2006, 06:05 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lanark,Scotland
Posts: 736
a quick question

Im shooting with an HD100 and i'm I'm new to editing HDV , in FCP do you always have to render HDV clips as soon as they are in the timeline? or have i over looked a setting?.

If you have to render all clips imediately it could get time consuming.

Any ideas?

Andy
__________________
Actor: "where would that light be coming from?"
DP: "same place as the music" -Andrew Lesnie-
Andy Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 06:14 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
You must have a mismatch in codec, frame size, or frame rate if you are seeing the red render bar.

When the source footage settings match the timeline settings, you will have real-time playback.

Just check your sequence settings.

The most likely scenario is that you created a 720P30 sequence but captured 720P24 footage (or vise-versa.)
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 06:27 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lanark,Scotland
Posts: 736
Tim just the man, I've been through all the settings and set them to HDV25p, i set my capture to HDV as aposed to HDV AIC and all other settings i could find to HDV25p being in pal land. everything was filmed HDV25p and captured in HDV25p and the timeline is HDV25p. I'm stumped. I picked all the apropriate settings available for my region.

I guess im overlooking something

I appreciate the help.

Andy
__________________
Actor: "where would that light be coming from?"
DP: "same place as the music" -Andrew Lesnie-
Andy Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 06:52 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Andy,

Try this.

Select your sequence and then select "settings" from the sequence menu (or hit COMMAND + 0)

Confirm that your settings are the same as the screen grab below.
Attached Thumbnails
a quick question-screengrab-63.jpg  
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 07:06 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lanark,Scotland
Posts: 736
here are my settings;

system settings . pulldown 2:3:2:3
sequence pre- HDV720p25
capture pre- HDV
device con- HDV firewire 25fps
video playback- none
audio- default
----------------------
summery:
sequence preset- HDV720p25
----------------------
capture preset -HDV
----------------------
sequence settings:
frame size - 960 x 720 (i tried various settings here, maybe the problem...what should it be?)
pixel aspect ratio- HD 960x720
quicktime video settings- compression- HDVp25

I basically set every setting i could find to 25p HDV, the only thing im not sure about is what pixel aspect ratio i should be using.
__________________
Actor: "where would that light be coming from?"
DP: "same place as the music" -Andrew Lesnie-
Andy Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 07:08 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lanark,Scotland
Posts: 736
hold on ill try that
__________________
Actor: "where would that light be coming from?"
DP: "same place as the music" -Andrew Lesnie-
Andy Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 07:17 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lanark,Scotland
Posts: 736
Tim, you know your stuff.....that did the trick , it was the aspect ratio

a big thank you from Scotland.

you can stick a fork in this thread and call it done!

Cheers Andy.
__________________
Actor: "where would that light be coming from?"
DP: "same place as the music" -Andrew Lesnie-
Andy Graham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network