How fast a computer for ProHD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 30th, 2006, 06:17 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE of London, England
Posts: 788
How fast a computer for ProHD?

Sorry for the cross-post, could get a reply in the FCP section...

My main FCP suite is a 2.66 quad core, but I want a laptop to do little bits of editing with clients and use when I am away with work.

A friend has offered me a Powerbook 1.5 GHz G4 for a decent price, but I was wondering if this was enough or should I go for a higher spec machine? I edit mainly DV and HDV. My main desktop would still do the bulk of my mpeg encoding etc. My main camera is a JVC HD101, so I mainly use 720p HDV, so would the 1.5GHz be enough?

Is anyone using a 1.5GHz G4 with FCP 5.1.2? If so, how does it perform?

Thanks!
Mike Marriage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 06:23 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
I use a Powerbook G4 1 GHZ with FCP to edit HDV/DV material from my Canon XL-H1 camera when I'm lazy and wanna work from my couch... I does the job, off course not as speedy as my Intel Mac Pro quad 3 ghz @ the office, but for me good enough to "offline".
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 10:59 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE of London, England
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vincent Rozenberg
I use a Powerbook G4 1 GHZ with FCP to edit HDV/DV material from my Canon XL-H1 camera when I'm lazy and wanna work from my couch... I does the job, off course not as speedy as my Intel Mac Pro quad 3 ghz @ the office, but for me good enough to "offline".
Thanks Vincent!

When you say "offline" do you mean that it doesn't cope with HDV unless you edit using a less power hungry codec?

Thanks...
Mike Marriage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 12:58 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 150
Hi Mike,

Although I'm a big time Vegas user, I'm using a Powerbook 17" G4 1.67ghz with 1GB RAM to cut my film mainly out of necessity and convenience. It does a great job of editing the Apple HDV 720p 24p files. Not fast, but not frustrating either and definitely doable. RT performance is not too bad, I've seen my friends Macbook render maybe twice as fast. Overall, I'm very happy with this "old" powerbook.
George David is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 08:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tokyo/Sydney
Posts: 297
I have the same set up as George but I have 1.5g of Ram. I do get frustrated when some of my renders are 18hrs. I guess thats what you pay with HD, overall the HD100u and the PB set up is pretty portable, and at the end of the day thats what I wanted in the beginning; portability.
__________________
"eyes through a digital world"
Jemore Santos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network