JVC DR-HD100 vs FE FS-4Pro - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2006, 11:01 PM   #16
JVC America
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hayk Paul
Can you mount the FS-4 on the camera like the DR-100?
Yes, you just need the right mounting kit. There is one for customers with IDX brackets, and one for customers with Anton Bauer brackets. Consult your JVC Pro reseller.
__________________
Carl Hicks
JVC Professional Products Company
Carl Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2006, 05:22 PM   #17
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Hicks
You should consult with JVC tech support in your country to get assistance with the proper set-up.

Regards,

That would be great if there was any. So far the only person I can talk to is the chief engineer at JVC-Hagemeyer, but his exact words were "I'm not very familiar with the DR-HD100" ....

All servicing in Australia is handled by third party.

thanks anyway Carl,

I'll perservere

John
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2006, 08:02 PM   #18
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Hi Carl -

I'm following up with JVC in Australia, but apart from the split record function, none of the others are working.

We have the right firmware revision, so I'm wondering this - is there another part of the A upgrade that must be implemented (apart from firmware) for the unit to work correctly?

It does state in the manual that the GY-HD10x must have the "A" revision. While I've had my firmware upgraded, the hardware hasn't been touched.
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2006, 09:24 PM   #19
JVC America
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Mitchell
Hi Carl -

I'm following up with JVC in Australia, but apart from the split record function, none of the others are working.

We have the right firmware revision, so I'm wondering this - is there another part of the A upgrade that must be implemented (apart from firmware) for the unit to work correctly?

It does state in the manual that the GY-HD10x must have the "A" revision. While I've had my firmware upgraded, the hardware hasn't been touched.
Hi John,

Sorry, I don't know. You'll need to continue to work with JVC tech support there.

Also: have you checked the firmware version of the DR-HD100 to see if it is up to date? Check this website for instructions:

http://www.focusinfo.com/support/downloads.asp#expand
__________________
Carl Hicks
JVC Professional Products Company
Carl Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 02:19 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
Yes and no.

It will capture m2t files exactly the way a program like DVHSCap would. Therefore, any frame rate, inlcuding 720P24 will record as m2t. I haven't actually tested 480P60 or 576P50 yet, but will get around to that.

If you are referring to the real-time quicktime encapsulation for FCP 5, then only 720P30 will work. However, Focus says they are working on 720P24 QT support.

Hi Tim, Have they updated this yet? I only shoot 24p and I REALLY want to buy the DR100, but if I can't shot 24p and edit it in FC5, Its not use =(
__________________
Visit me and my work at www.artofduke.com
Brian Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 03:24 AM   #21
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Duke
Hi Tim, Have they updated this yet? I only shoot 24p and I REALLY want to buy the DR100, but if I can't shot 24p and edit it in FC5, Its not use =(
As far as I know Focus still hasn't released 720P24 quicktime support. m2t support has always been there, but I feel like this product won't really be complete until it can encapsulate HDV 720P24 and 720P25 in Quicktime.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network