Can't see HD100 anymore after I changed Firewire HDV settings at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2006, 08:20 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 60
Can't see HD100 anymore after I changed Firewire HDV settings

my mac can't see HD100 anymore. Lumiere, FCP 5 and iMovie don't seem to recognize the camera. I am not sure whether its the camera's fault (its been fine up until now) or because I changed settings in Firewire HDV accorind to this thread: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=75138

I doubt that settings prevent the computer from seeing the camera, especially that I only changed the settings in FCP. Anyhow, Lumiere and other programs can't seem to find the HD100.
Attached Thumbnails
Can't see HD100 anymore after I changed Firewire HDV settings-picture-7.png  
Rati Oneli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 08:42 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 60
These are the setting I have right now. Thanks

http://server6.theimagehosting.com/i...081&fullsize=1


If you click on the image it will take you to the next image showing settings and then to the next one. There are five images in all.
Rati Oneli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 09:25 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 60
Also, I just noticed that when I connect the firewire cable to the camcorder my computer starts to emit noise. I don't know how to describe it - it's sort of high-pitch intermiettent signal. Sometimes if you turn a TV on (especially an old one) and turn the volume all the way down similar noise is present.

Could something have happened to the drivers? Maybe firewire output on the camera itself? Or the firewire input on the computer? Has anyone else had this problem? I am thinking of reinstalling the OS X from the scratch - horrible thought...

I need to digitize footage for tomorrow and this was really not what I needed right now.
Rati Oneli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 09:51 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Did you by any chance
  • Switch the DV/HDV switch while the camera was turned on.
  • Connect or disconnect the firewire cable while the camera was turned on.
?
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 09:53 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 60
Tim, thanks. Just did it but to no avail
Rati Oneli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 12:56 PM   #6
JVC America
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood
Did you by any chance
  • Switch the DV/HDV switch while the camera was turned on.
  • Connect or disconnect the firewire cable while the camera was turned on.
?
Rati,

The questions Tim asked you are eluding to the fact that the camera's firewire port can be damaged if you do these things. If your Mac is no longer recognizing the camera in the HDV mode, then the firewire circuit may be damaged. You should take your camera to our service center in Pine Brook, NJ to have it checked out.

Regards,
__________________
Carl Hicks
JVC Professional Products Company
Carl Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 01:08 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Carl, are you saying that the FW port could be damaged if the HDV/HD switch is switched while the deck/camera are on? I realize that hot swapping is not good but switching?
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 01:12 PM   #8
JVC America
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiri Bakala
Carl, are you saying that the FW port could be damaged if the HDV/HD switch is switched while the deck/camera are on? I realize that hot swapping is not good but switching?
The cameras have two separate firewire circuits - one for DV and one for HDV. When you flip that switch, you are breaking the connection from one circuit and connecting to the other circuit. If there is voltage present from your computer when this switch-over happens, then there is a potential for damage to the firewire circuit. Better to be safe and power down the computer and camera before pluggin, unplugging, or changing the switch.
__________________
Carl Hicks
JVC Professional Products Company
Carl Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 01:31 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,063
Hey that's real important information - I haven't needed to switch between DV/HDV, but it's good to know. I never would've thought of that (although I did know generally not to connect the camera when on).

Add to sticky list?

john
evilgeniusentertainment.com
John Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 02:24 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 60
Carl, thanks for the info. I guess that's what I will do. I reformatted the MAC from the scratch and didn't help - FW on the camcorder might be the issue.
Rati Oneli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 02:48 PM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Vincent
Add to sticky list?
We did have a sticky warning posted for at least six months, but in an effort to clean up the sticky area, we deemed it as "common knowledge" and removed it as a sticky.

When I had my 'A' update performed my camera came back with a yellow warning sheet. It was on the top in plain sight with the addendum for the new menu items. It was the first thing I saw when I opened the box.

I assume this was standard practice for the U.S. updates as well?

I've scanned and attached the warning, and I will put the sticky back for those who may not realize how serious this issue is.
BTW, the warning was always in the manual on page 54, but never in such clear terms.

Warning Sheet
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 02:58 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 60
Tim, thank you. Looks like this happened to me :) I never got the sheet though.
Rati Oneli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 02:59 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,063
I got the "A" upgrade, but I didn't get this sheet - just the camera in a plastic bag.

I think most people know about the basic rule of keeping the power off before connecting the Firewire - but I doubt many know about the DV/HDV caviat (it is somewhat counter-intuitive).

john
evilgeniusentertainment.com
John Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 05:06 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
The fact that one shouldn't change the switch position while the equipment is power is downright silly, if you ask me. Hot-swapping FW cables, yes, I can understand that. But a hardware switch? C'mon. I know that it doesn't work properly unless the deck/camera are switched off for the change between the DV and HDV position but to have to power down the computer for that is really stupid.

BTW, I didn't get the extra warning either.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 03:17 PM   #15
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Monterrey Mexico
Posts: 3
i have the same problem

but the damage is serious.
the technical support tellme that:
In fact,the damage happend because the circuit to conection HDV/DV (tablet board circuit) doesnt suppport voltage variation.
A minimal variation voltage cross into the 1394 card and the camera when you connect it.
sometimes these variations blocked the conection and made twice sounds when you start the conection again (a little alarm)
I spend $520 USD for repair the camera because i broke the golden rule:
"keeping the power off before connecting the Firewire"
good luck
Paco Viclhis
Monterrey Mexico
Francisco Vilchis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network