BR-HD50U- digitize HDMI? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 9th, 2006, 01:01 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
BR-HD50U- digitize HDMI?

I was planning on getting a Kona LH card to digitize the analog out of the JVC deck. Then I came across the Decklink HD Studio card which apparently can digitize an HDMI signal with RS422 control.

The BR-HD50U has an HDMI port. Seems like a wonderful way to avoid A/D conversion right?

I've never worked with HDMI before but understand that for digitizing- it should be every bit as good as HDSDI.

So is there anything I'm not taking into account here?
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2006, 02:32 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
In the case of the BR-HD50 it would be superior to the component analog out.

Decklink also has the Intensity for $249 US that can capture HDMI, but no RS-422 control. I would suppose you could use firewire for transport control in this case, but it is doubtful you could access TC from HDV sources.

http://www.decklink.com/products/intensity
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2006, 04:39 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Tim,

I am currious about one thing related to the Decklink cards: if you ingest via the card and either the HDMI or analogue component HD to one of the available codecs (uncompressed or DVCPRO HD), you are good to edit and manipulate the material. It's also quite easy to master via the DVI back to a pro deck. How do you master back to HDV, though? I for one, don't have a HDCAM or DVCPRO HD deck at my disposal and for most projects I do it would be an overkill anyway. So for my archiving purposes going back to the BR-HD50 in HDV is just fine. If I went with FCP and a Decklink card, how would I do that?
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2006, 12:48 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Jiri,

In FCP, the only way to master back to the JVC HDV deck is to "conform" your timeline to HDV and then print to tape. The Black Magic, AJA card is taken out of the process.

Other NLE's may be different.

The problem is that the HDV decks don't have component or SDI in, which is a major pain in the ass. Then we could just "play" from the timeline right in to the deck using our pro video cards.

I've actually decided to wait about 5 months to see if a more proffesional HDV deck comes out from either Sony or JVC. I just can't spend 3K on a deck without inputs other than firewire. The current crop doesn't even have XLR outs!
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2006, 05:32 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Thanks Justin. It is apparent that camera manufacturers got way ahead of the NLE guys this time. Your plan to wait is smart and will probably pay off.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 12:44 PM   #6
JVC America
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Ferar
Jiri,

In FCP, the only way to master back to the JVC HDV deck is to "conform" your timeline to HDV and then print to tape. The Black Magic, AJA card is taken out of the process.

Other NLE's may be different.

The problem is that the HDV decks don't have component or SDI in, which is a major pain in the ass. Then we could just "play" from the timeline right in to the deck using our pro video cards.

I've actually decided to wait about 5 months to see if a more proffesional HDV deck comes out from either Sony or JVC. I just can't spend 3K on a deck without inputs other than firewire. The current crop doesn't even have XLR outs!

Hi Justin,

The decks currently don't have component or HDSDI because the decks don't have an MPEG encoder inside. This is an expensive thing to add to a deck, and it would push it way out of the price range that most people are willing to pay that don't need those features.

We do have a solution coming: The SA-HD50 Encoder/Decoder. This will link to a BR-HD50U via a simple firewire cable, and it will add component I/O and HDSDI I/O, and other features. See this link for more info:

http://pro.jvc.com/prof/attributes/p...&feature_id=08

Regards,
__________________
Carl Hicks
JVC Professional Products Company
Carl Hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 05:46 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Wow, that is an interesting product.

It's just that the purchase of the deck plus the encoder starts to approach a DVC pro HD deck, say the panansonic AJ-HD1200A, which would be all one unit.

Carl, can you fill us in on the JVC DT-V20L1DU and the DT-V20L1U HD monitors? (the latter I guess has no SDI)

Were building our HD suite and I would really like to know when these may be available. The Pannys lack an HDMI port.

Thanks if you get this.
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 06:40 PM   #8
JVC America
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Ferar
Wow, that is an interesting product.

It's just that the purchase of the deck plus the encoder starts to approach a DVC pro HD deck, say the panansonic AJ-HD1200A, which would be all one unit.

Carl, can you fill us in on the JVC DT-V20L1DU and the DT-V20L1U HD monitors? (the latter I guess has no SDI)

Were building our HD suite and I would really like to know when these may be available. The Pannys lack an HDMI port.

Thanks if you get this.
Hi Justin,

The combination of a BR-HD50U and the SR-HD50U will probably be at least $4000 less than the Panansonic AJ-HD1200A, plus it will offer 4.5 hours of recording, versus 90 minutes for the AJ-HD1200A, plus the JVC package will have not only HDSDI I/O, but also component HD I/O, plus our tape cost is much lower per minute.

In regards to the new LCD production monitors, please see our "new models" page at: http://pro.jvc.com/prof/new_models.jsp
Look at the 6th and 7th item. The 24" models are supposed to be shipping by the end of December. The 20" models are due be the end of January.

Regards,
__________________
Carl Hicks
JVC Professional Products Company
Carl Hicks is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network