60P capture on a Mac for "overcranked" slow-motion at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 20th, 2006, 07:42 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
60P capture on a Mac for "overcranked" slow-motion

all i need is some one to point me to a post that can run me over the capture of 60p, then i want to put it into fcp, then on to dvd.

or can tell me, i have had a bit of a look but no go.


sounds easy..

thanks you smart people.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 09:37 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Try http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=51451

The process is very easy on a Mac. (NOTE: 60P actually means 59.94 fps)
  • Capture your 60P m2t with a program like HDVxDV, DVHSCap or VirtualDVHS. (The latter 2 available in Apple's Quicktime SDK)
  • Use MpegStreamClip to convert the 60P m2t(s) to a 60P quicktime(s) (I prefer Apple Intermediate Codec) You can also uprez to 1280x720 at this point in the process.
  • If you want to use the footage for "slow-motion," Open Cinema Tools and then "Batch Conform" the 60P quicktime(s) to 23.98fps (or 29.97fps/25fps for NTSC or PAL respectively.)
  • Import your clips into FCP and start editing.
You will now have "overcranked" slow-motion clips that run at whatever frame rate you selected when you conformed in Cinema Tools.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2006, 09:54 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Robert,

I just noticed that you live in Australia, which is a 50Hz/220V country. If you shoot 60P, you should use the variable shutter to phase the shutter to the 50Hz cycle of any flourescent (kinoflo) lights. Otherwise, you may find that 60P gives you some undesirable flickering.
Exterior shooting will present no problems anywhere on the planet.

Also, if you are shooting with a HD101 or 111, (not HD200 or 250 series) then "HDVSD60" mode will only give you 480 lines, but HDVSD50 will give you 576 - the same as PAL DV. I would consider this a good tradeoff for the loss of 10fps overcranking.

For those of us in North America, try to use 1/60.1 or 1/59.92 Variable shutter when shooting 50P with flourescent lighting.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 01:45 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
thanks and nab

thanks tim,

one other thing will you be going to the nab in 2007, i will be over there to have a look, would like to catch up .
rob.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 02:38 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bale
thanks tim,

one other thing will you be going to the nab in 2007
I'm planning on it. Hopefully I'll have time to stay more than two days this year!
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 04:56 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 69
I finally got around to trying this today, works great.
Even looks good slowed down another 50% in FCP.

Thanks!
__________________
~~~Adam Oas~~~
www.TexasMotorSpeedway.com
Adam Oas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 08:24 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
is there any problems if i have audio on the tape as well.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2006, 10:01 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bale
is there any problems if i have audio on the tape as well.
It will remain in sync, but will be pitched down - and the sampled playback frequency will be lowered. Therefore 48Khz will probably be slowed to about 20Khz.

You might be able to pitch it back up by using the AUpitch plug-in.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network