?s about the HD110 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 6th, 2007, 09:43 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 92
?s about the HD110

Am I reading correctly that the 110 will not allow you to shoot @ 720 60P (or 60i)? Is 480i SD the only way to get an interlaced image to tape/over firewire?

If you want to shoot news without a progressive look at HD rez I guess you are out of luck with this cam?

Is there a way to achieve an HD interlaced image with this camera (without being tethered)?

Also, can you shoot 720 24P HDV to tape while simultaneously going to a powerbook across firewire?
Will Boggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 10:01 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kelowna BC Canada
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Boggs View Post
Am I reading correctly that the 110 will not allow you to shoot @ 720 60P (or 60i)? Is 480i SD the only way to get an interlaced image to tape/over firewire?
Correct on both counts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Boggs View Post
If you want to shoot news without a progressive look at HD rez I guess you are out of luck with this cam?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Boggs View Post
Is there a way to achieve an HD interlaced image with this camera (without being tethered)?
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Boggs View Post
Also, can you shoot 720 24P HDV to tape while simultaneously going to a powerbook across firewire?
I believe so, I guess it would depend on the application.
__________________
www.ascentfilms.com
Jiri Bakala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 10:13 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 92
I've got an old powerbook I use. It's an 867 G4 12" running FCP 5.0.4 with plenty of RAM.
Will Boggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 10:43 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 335
How much ram? And you can edit hdv on that thing without any problems or slowdowns?!?
Amos Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 10:54 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 92
A gig. Haven't edited any HDV yet. I shoot everything with my trusty DVX100A but have a project I will start shooting on in about 5 to 6 weeks and want to shoot HD. I am trying to figure out which cam I will upgrade to. I like what I am reading about the HD110 and it is in my price range.

I plan to buy the cam and not get a deck for a little while. So, that is why I am wondering about the capability to run to my powerbook so I can edit right away and not put wear and tear on the HD110 as a deck.
Will Boggs is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network