HDV to analog video at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 7th, 2007, 11:50 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Guatemala, Guatemala
Posts: 63
HDV to analog video

Can I down convert HDV to analog video through the Components outputs of my HD100 camera? Is there any lost of quality? Thanks.
__________________
Saultv
Saul Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 02:11 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 636
When you watch anything off the component outputs your already watching in an analog format. So you could buy a component HD capture card and capture material right off the camera that would be ready to put in the timeline, no intermediate conversion.

I can't say exactly what the quality loss would be, but there is some in the conversion to analog using the component outs. Would you notice it? No. Even when you capture as m2t down firewire you have to convert to an intermediate codec and there's some type of quality change in that decompression phase. Again, would you notice it? No.

I'm not sure about the HD-SDI out of the 250 but that would probably provide the best possible out from this camera line.

Ben
Ben Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 06:34 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Guatemala, Guatemala
Posts: 63
Thanks

Thanks, Ben.
__________________
Saultv
Saul Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 10:24 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Lynn View Post
When you watch anything off the component outputs your already watching in an analog format. So you could buy a component HD capture card and capture material right off the camera that would be ready to put in the timeline, no intermediate conversion.

I can't say exactly what the quality loss would be, but there is some in the conversion to analog using the component outs. Would you notice it? No.


Ben
I'm not sure I agree with this, except for the quality hit you take from the digital to analog conversion on the HD100. We did notice it and found little to nothing gained going that route. If you capture to tape with HDV compression and then take it out component, you have now taken two quality hits, it does start to go a tad soft. Component is best left for playback and to monitor during a shoot, but once you have gone to tape you might as well work with firewire if you want to retain as much quality as possible.
This was just our findings, your mileage may vary.

The HD250 and HD-SDI is very nice indeed, no issues there.
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 10:37 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Guatemala, Guatemala
Posts: 63
HDV through firewire?

Daniel, as I read, firewire can't out HDV video only DV. Is it correct?
__________________
Saultv
Saul Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 10:40 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 29
If you are recording to tape and then capturing, firewire is the highest quality. It's a 'bit for bit' digital connection - no loss. HD SDI has a tiny bit of loss.

If you are capturing off of HD SDI a live feed to a capture board, you can get uncompressed HD, without the mpeg2 HDV compression.
Jason Nolte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 11:20 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Nolte View Post
...HD SDI has a tiny bit of loss.
Hey Jason,

I'm not sure I'm clear on this. So SDI has a tiny bit of loss regardless or do you mean from tape/HDV out SDI? If so how can you guage if there is any loss on the SDI end of things, or if it's simply the HDV compression as expected? Since the only better quality workflow is the same SDI as uncompressed.

I'm genuinely curious. How can this be measured without some form of raw data to compare the SDI to?


Sorry, didn't mean to hijack the thread.
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2007, 08:44 AM   #8
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
1-firewire can output DV or HDV, no problems with either. Firewire canNOT do HD.
2-If you're chromakeying, direct capture from component out may be better because you have 4:2: color mapping. If chromakeying isn't an issue, the highest quality process is to m2t>intermediate.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2007, 08:49 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Patton View Post
I'm not sure I'm clear on this. So SDI has a tiny bit of loss regardless or do you mean from tape/HDV out SDI? If so how can you guage if there is any loss on the SDI end of things, or if it's simply the HDV compression as expected? Since the only better quality workflow is the same SDI as uncompressed.
HD SDI has a tiny bit of loss, regardless. If you are capturing off of tape, you are also dealing with the mpeg2 HDV codec compression as well. However, even if you are shooting and capturing a live feed directly into a capture board with HD SDI, you still are getting a tiny bit of loss. But not to be confusing, we're talking miniscule amounts here - nothing that I think is perceivable from the human eye.

Don't get me wrong, HD SDI is a great solution. Instead of wrangling 5 cables plus reference, you can use one digital cable that carries everything in much higher quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Patton View Post
I'm genuinely curious. How can this be measured without some form of raw data to compare the SDI to?
It can be measured:
HD-SDI has its variants which can transmit full-bandwidth, 10-bit RGB and an alpha channel to boot.
(All you ever wanted to know about HD SDI and more)
Jason Nolte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2007, 11:20 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
Jason, Thanks! That's a great white paper on SDI, and I only had to read it maybe 3X before it started to stick. I prefer to dig as far down as I can. ;)

However, unless I'm reading it wrong it described the transmission of digital data over SDI as "lossless compression". Although the signal is transmitted over "low loss" coaxial cable I didn't get the impression the loss effected the transmitted image per say, but simply that it had to stay within a sufficient range in order for the receiver to recognize and reconstruct the data bits. Either the receiver obtains enough signal or it doesn't.

I got the impression that even though the received data had some edge jitter due to the receivers re-clocking, as long as the clock cycle remained intact the data also remained intact. So the signal could have an acceptable loss, or be low but that it did not necessarily equate to a loss in image quality, it just required a better receiver. Is this close or am I missing something?

Peace!
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network