Is Firewire enough for capturing HD media? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 27th, 2007, 05:35 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 31
Is Firewire enough for capturing HD media?

A friend of mine said "Firewire doesn't have enough bandwidth to capture from a camera". Is it true? Because I shot my short film in 720p25 format with HD111 and I'm planning to capture 2 hour of footage via Firewire using Adobe Premiere 2.0 with Cineform Aspect HD.

Is it enough?
Erhan Gucel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 05:47 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Yes. HDV is about the same bandwidth as DV. It will capture fine from your HDV tape source. The real issue is whether your system can handle HDV editing after capture.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 05:49 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Erhan,

You should not have any problems. HDV 1 (720p) is a compressed HD 1280/720p data stream running at 19 megabits per second. Firewire can handle up to 400 megabits per second. Plenty fast. So, your friend is misinformed.

Good Luck.
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 05:59 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
The only problem I've ever had is in rendering a 15 minute ceremony. It would freeze up at 5%. I then found an article that suggested rendering to an internal drive instead of through a firewire to an external. I tried it an it worked. The thing is, though, I had never had that problem before. Perhaps it was a fluke.
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 06:07 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 31
Thanks for the reply all of you.

I'm planning to do this: will buy a 320 GB Sata Hard disc, and will buy a HDD case to connect HDD to my comp. via USB or firewire and capture the media to it in a 1:1 ratio. (I mean no compression). I have 2 full tapes (120 min of footage)
So how many Gigs needed? And this way of capturing is ok?

My System's spec:
AMD64 3200+ (overclocked to 4000)
1 GB DDR ram
nvidia 7950GT 512 MB
120 MB IDE HDD (and 320 GB SATA)
Win XP Pro.

Is it enough?
Erhan Gucel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 01:07 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank
Posts: 1,811
Here's an old thread with a posts by Tim Dashwood, Werner Wesp and others that answer your questions about size:

http://dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=77329
Jack Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 01:57 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Once the video is on the tape, the compression is there. No changing that.

So you need somewhere in the area of 13 gigs per hour of tape to capture to .m2t files. If you use an intermediate like cineforms, figure about 30 gigs.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 06:21 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 857
If you're going external, I use a 320G Western Digital external via firewire. (Don't mess with USB.) I swear by WD, as I have dropped it onto a hardwood floor and it has never failed. If you're going to go bigger in the future, Best Buy has a new-fangled external RAID hard drive system that looks promising, and is expandible up to 2TB. I don't recall the manufacturer.

You might check into an internal raid system if you have space in your comp.
Dana Salsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 07:27 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erhan Gucel View Post
A friend of mine said "Firewire doesn't have enough bandwidth to capture from a camera". Is it true? Because I shot my short film in 720p25 format with HD111 and I'm planning to capture 2 hour of footage via Firewire using Adobe Premiere 2.0 with Cineform Aspect HD.

Is it enough?
Uncompressed HD would be impossible to capture via firewire - perhaps this is what your friend meant?

Drew
Drew Curran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 09:25 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Curran View Post
Uncompressed HD would be impossible to capture via firewire
Certainly, the HD100 doesn't support sending uncompressed HD over Firewire, but it would be possible. 1280x720/30P 4:2:0 video is only 332 megabits/sec, and 1280x720/30P 4:2:2 video is only 442 megabits/sec. A device could send those signals over Firewire 400 and Firewire 800, respectively. Obviously, though, the best thing you get from the HD100's Firewire 400 is a 19 megabit/sec MPEG-2 compressed 1280x720/30P 4:2:0 signal.
Keith Winstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 03:22 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Winstein View Post
Certainly, the HD100 doesn't support sending uncompressed HD over Firewire, but it would be possible. 1280x720/30P 4:2:0 video is only 332 megabits/sec, and 1280x720/30P 4:2:2 video is only 442 megabits/sec. A device could send those signals over Firewire 400 and Firewire 800, respectively. Obviously, though, the best thing you get from the HD100's Firewire 400 is a 19 megabit/sec MPEG-2 compressed 1280x720/30P 4:2:0 signal.
The figures might look good, but in reality I'd doubt it would work. All the big studios would be trippin gover themselves to use basic firewire drives...
Drew Curran is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network