Playback of HD250 content on HD100 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 30th, 2007, 11:08 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 636
Playback of HD250 content on HD100

This summer I have a production that will use two different units. One will be a 250 and one will be my own 100. I intend to shoot both cameras in 720 30p. My 100 will be used for the playback deck so I want to confirm that content shot on the 250 will play back on the 100. I know that this "should" work, but if anyone could confirm this then that would help in the planning process. If the material isn't playable I'll need to rent a 100/110 instead of the 250. Thanks for the help.

Ben
Ben Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 11:49 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
As long as you shoot 720/30 or 720/24 I think you're okay. I don't think 250's 720/60p will play back on a 100/110 but I could be mistaken. I believe that the 250's 720/60p uses a 12 frame GOP while the 250's 720/30 & 24 uses the same 6 frame GOP as the 100/110.

Hopefully someone really in the know will confirm.
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 12:00 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,214
All frame rates from the HD-250 will play back from the HD-100 (50 and 60p included). I know this fact from personal experience.

good times...
Stephen L. Noe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 01:05 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen L. Noe View Post
All frame rates from the HD-250 will play back from the HD-100 (50 and 60p included). I know this fact from personal experience.

good times...
And someone really in the know has provided the answer. Cool. I stand corrected. That's really interesting to know. Thanks Stephen.
__________________
David Parks: DP/Editor: Jacobs Aerospace at NASA Johnson Space Center
https://www.youtube.com/user/JacobsESCG
David Parks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2007, 11:23 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 636
Thanks Stephen.

Ben
Ben Lynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 08:30 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen L. Noe View Post
All frame rates from the HD-250 will play back from the HD-100 (50 and 60p included). I know this fact from personal experience.

good times...
Do you mean for firewire capture? or does the picture actually show up on the LCD?
Scott Jaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 09:02 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Jaco View Post
Do you mean for firewire capture? or does the picture actually show up on the LCD?
yes to both...
Stephen L. Noe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2007, 04:18 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
the sales rep in my area said the same thing, yes on both.
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2007, 06:45 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 471
I wonder how the HD100 can do that, since it shouldn't be able to read the 12-frame GOP signal.
Scott Jaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2007, 09:16 PM   #10
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Jaco View Post
I wonder how the HD100 can do that, since it shouldn't be able to read the 12-frame GOP signal.
MPEG-2 can have varying GOP sizes as long as they stay within a range of "about" 3 to 18. ATSC uses 15, ProHD uses 6 or 12, HD2 uses 15. It's the Repeat Flags of 24p that can cause a problem on early HDV equipment. I think I remember playing 60p on an HD1.

Sony's new V1 camcorder will even play ProHD tapes via HDMI at 720p60 -- but not 24p tapes.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network