Question: Component output have real-time SD downconversion? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2007, 11:20 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 663
Question: Component output have real-time SD downconversion?

I am attempting to hook up a component->VGA converter between my HD100A and an LCD monitor, but am having a problem with the component output. It does not downconvert to SD for live capture and I am unable to find a menu option to enable this behavior. During tape playback, the relevant menu options work very well. However, since I am tapeless, this doesn't do much for me. Is this even possible for the HD100? HD110? HD200?

My LCD monitor only supports 480p, but that should be sufficient for focusing. Composite output is just a little too soft.

Thanks!
__________________
software engineer
Jad Meouchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2007, 09:55 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
I don't think it does live SD over component.
composite is the only option.
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2007, 09:57 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
I didn't think so either...
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2007, 05:38 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 663
Yeah, I feel like a moron now.

In any case, the mayflash is a great device and, when hooked up to a proper 720p-capable VGA monitor, has an excellent picture.
__________________
software engineer
Jad Meouchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2007, 11:17 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 431
wait a sec, what about the HDV SD mode?

That "should" give you SD resolution over component, though its anamorphic and not 4x3.
Mark Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2007, 04:37 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 663
Well yeah probably, but I'm not interested in capturing SD. HD or bust :)

I'm using 16:9 monitors, so the aspect ratio is correct. My system worked fine when playing back from tape, and the picture looked great on the little 800x480 screen. Unfortunately, this downconversion is only done during tape playback, and I am tapeless...
__________________
software engineer
Jad Meouchy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network