Firmware update for HD200/250 'minimizes' FCP ingest issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 9th, 2007, 04:34 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Firmware update for HD200/250 'minimizes' FCP ingest issues

JVC has posted a downloadable firmware update for the HD200 and HD250 cameras on their website.

The white paper for the update claims "This firmware will eliminate or minimize the number of clips that Final Cut Pro generates for a continuously recorded HDV section of tape."

I haven't had time to download and install the update yet. I've had exceptiionally good luck in the past so it will be difficult for me to judge if there is a significant improvement.

Therefore, I urge any HD200 or HD250 users who have been having problems to take a scientific approach to the firmware update. Before running the update, capture long section of tape that you've been having problems with. Then perform the update and attempt to capture that same tape again. Please report your results.

I'm hoping this will be the end to the FCP ingest issues, but please don't consider it an excuse to use cheap miniDV tapes.

I also hope that a similar update for the HD100 and HD110 is just around the corner.

If you don't feel comfortable conducting this update yourself, don't be embarrassed to take your camera to your dealer or local JVC service department. There is a risk of damage.

Here is the link to the firmware update.
http://pro.jvc.com/pro/attributes/HD...ade/index.html
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2007, 07:20 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 125
Nothing but the finest, most expensive JVC top-of-the-line tape has ever touched our GY HD100UA, and we nonetheless had the problem interfacing with FCP from day one of our ownership of the camera.

So based on this experience it is not correct to assume that the problem has been related to tape quality. Low quality or non-JVC branded tape may exacerbate the problem, I don't know. But if your camera has the bug (or whatever it is) in it, high-quality tape will not save you from suffering.

And of course if you have an HD100UA or HD110, as of now there is NO solution for us except for the abandonment of tape in favor of digital recording direct to a revolving hard drive. "DTE" (as it is called) is our only sure solution: It's costly, but it works and delivers further benefits as well.

I'm so happy with the DTE solution that I bought another one of these cameras as soon as I learned of the DTE "fix." This 720p-capable camera (100UA or 110) is so wonderful that I did not hesitate to get another one for a split second, once the DTE solution became clear.
__________________
http://stratostream.com -- dance & fitness videos
Scott Shuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2007, 09:22 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 471
Why on earth would they not have an update for the HD100/110? Since it has the exact same problem? I really hope the HD100 update is coming soon!
Scott Jaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2007, 09:46 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 263
I think the MPEG Streamclip work-flow will be with us for some time to come.
Tim Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 12:33 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virgina, USA
Posts: 276
I'm thrilled to have downloaded this...

...but I'm going to wait to actually rejoice until the 24p sequence I shot yesterday comes in. But if there's still the 7 sec delay on clip change, then while I may enjoy the 'performance boost', I'm just going to be feelin' "Warmest Regards" and not a full Joice. Certainly not a "RE: Joice."
__________________
Jeff Butler
Butler Films
Jeffrey Butler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 12:50 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virgina, USA
Posts: 276
No way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Brown View Post
I think the MPEG Streamclip work-flow will be with us for some time to come.
Can't you capture with AIC and ignore all this? I'm under the impression that the issues I'm having with native HDV captures in FCP aren't there (they haven't been for me) when using the HDV Apple Intermediate Codec straight capture...

I just tried the DVHScap workflow tonight. It's "fun" to see the raw .m2t in Streamclip once you have it - but to then wait to then transcode it? I'd rather eat glass. Seriously - it may work in some needful cases - but it just doesn't cut it for real workflow. The transcoding triples the time for an hour capture. And of course not shooting to an HDD doubles it I suppose...but if you're doing it for archive purposes in addition to capturing it, ok...the .m2ts are nice (to then put to DVD).

And if you're going to wind up transcoding it to edit it anyway, then the direct capture (assuming it works for you) into FCP via AIC seems like the way to go.
__________________
Jeff Butler
Butler Films
Jeffrey Butler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 07:20 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
Will this update also work in Europe type E camera's, or is it an update for US camera's only?
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 08:05 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Richmond, Virginia
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey Butler View Post
...And if you're going to wind up transcoding it to edit it anyway, then the direct capture (assuming it works for you) into FCP via AIC seems like the way to go.
But I post using Sheer's 4:2:2 codec, so to ingest using AIC and then transcode to Sheer's codec is too much loss for my tastes. I would rather wait and get it into Sheer's codec as it saves time and lotsa spce in the long run for me. I would prefer to ingest in Sheer's codec, but alas I'll continue to transcode. Hmmmmpphh.
Tim Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 03:50 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virgina, USA
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Brown View Post
But I post using Sheer's 4:2:2 codec, so to ingest using AIC and then transcode to Sheer's codec is too much loss for my tastes.
I agree with that if you require compositing freedom. May I ask why you didn't choose to work with a codec/capture board that's already out there? Like a Kona or Blackmagic? I haven't tried to bring it in under another setting via firewire, but with a capture card, you could take care of that easy. Seems like you could recoup the cost in time alone in one, maybe two shoots and then you've got your life back. :D
__________________
Jeff Butler
Butler Films
Jeffrey Butler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 05:13 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virgina, USA
Posts: 276
Card Reader?

What are you Mac users doing for a card reader? That's going to put a kink in my upgrade....
__________________
Jeff Butler
Butler Films
Jeffrey Butler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 05:36 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
my dell monitor :) I can also use my palm treo.
- but card readers are a dime a dozen. I've got a dedicated one in a drawer somewhere. The USB ones should just plug and work on a mac.
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 05:40 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virgina, USA
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Adair View Post
my dell monitor :) I can also use my palm treo.
- but card readers are a dime a dozen. I've got a dedicated one in a drawer somewhere. The USB ones should just plug and work on a mac.
Oh, I've got card readers - but they don't seem to handle SD cards...
__________________
Jeff Butler
Butler Films
Jeffrey Butler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 05:40 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 460
The thing that I wonder is - weren't people having trouble even using the BR-HD50 deck? Or am I wrong? Is the broken up clip missing seconds phenomena ONLY when capturing from the cameras?
All updates are very welcome. Thank you JVC!
(I even got a note from Craig Yanagi directly notifying about the upgrade!)
__________________
Sean Adair - NYC - www.adairproductions.com
JVC GY-HM-700 with 17x5 lens, MacPro 3.2ghz 8-core, 18gb. (JVC HD200 4 sale soon)
Sean Adair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 06:35 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffrey Butler View Post
What are you Mac users doing for a card reader? That's going to put a kink in my upgrade....
Good question.
Carl Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2007, 09:09 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virgina, USA
Posts: 276
Well, the update went fine over here, but it sure doesn't help that ridiculous 7 second delay in recognizing the dv start/stop. It's more infuriating than I can to get into. Seriously - I can't stand it.

Is anyone else having HDV capture delays on scene change? Please, don't tell me to roll 10 seconds before each shot. I could care less what's happening in the scene - I want a clip AT the start/stop break. I'll capture whatever way does that...without buying a card I'll just have to replace in a year....*sigh.
__________________
Jeff Butler
Butler Films
Jeffrey Butler is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network