artifacting/noise? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 10th, 2007, 08:11 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
artifacting/noise?

In this screen grab there's some irritating noise that moves around a bit in under the arches. I've marked one of them with the letter "X". But the noise in under all three arches. It's from a vegas 6.0 timeline, captured with cineform. 30p, and a HD100. Is this normal? what could be causing it?
Attached Thumbnails
artifacting/noise?-artifact.jpg  
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2007, 11:12 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
What quality setting did you use?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 01:02 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
What quality setting did you use?
In Vegas? I use GOOD.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 02:21 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 512
How noticable is it in motion, and is it present in the HDV source?
Stephan Ahonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 06:16 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Hi , I think it's simple. You have some SSE on the right part of the video...it's a little bit more blue than the left part. This cause more high noise level on the right part.

hope it's useful :)

bye
Andrea Toniolo Vi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 06:55 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrea Toniolo Vi View Post
Hi , I think it's simple. You have some SSE on the right part of the video...it's a little bit more blue than the left part. This cause more high noise level on the right part.

hope it's useful :)

bye
Anyone else see SSE? I honest can't, and the crawling noise is under all three of the arches. Could it be the lower light levels there?

Btw, this was a static shot, no panning. I'm looking for the source tape to see if it's there. Between the camera, Vegas, and cineform, I thinking it's the camera, could be wrong though.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2007, 08:50 AM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Good is a Vegas setting, what CineForm quality setting did you use? Are you using NEO or the free CineForm license with Vegas? While CineForm wavelets never adds noise, the "Medium" setting Vegas defaults is not the best at reconstructing the source MPEG noise. NEO gives you full control over this, the free CineForm license in Vegas does not.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network