Upset with JVC Service at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 11th, 2007, 10:27 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orange County
Posts: 296
Upset with JVC Service

Well.
I took my camera in on June 11th for the dead firewire port issue and finally got it back today, July 11th, only to find that my SD Card slot no longer works. What is that about? It's like I traded off one port for another.

I hesitate taking it back to them for them to have it for another month. Anyone have any ideas of what kind of home remedies can be done for this? I tried buying a new SD card, but that didn't work.

Thanks.
__________________
Heath Vinyard
www.ghostlandmedia.com
Heath Vinyard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2007, 11:25 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Did you format the card? You might think it's not working if that's the case.
Warren Shultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 10:34 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orange County
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren Shultz View Post
Did you format the card? You might think it's not working if that's the case.
Thank you for the reply. I tried to format the card through the camera multiple times, on all 3 SD cards I have, and each time I get the Error "No card." Is this the way you suggest? I'm open to anything right now. :)

Just as a side note, before I took the camera in, I never had an issue with the SD Card port. I wonder if it's a firmware upgrade that was done?

Thank you.
__________________
Heath Vinyard
www.ghostlandmedia.com
Heath Vinyard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 01:57 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heath Vinyard View Post
Thank you for the reply. I tried to format the card through the camera multiple times, on all 3 SD cards I have, and each time I get the Error "No card." Is this the way you suggest? I'm open to anything right now. :)

Just as a side note, before I took the camera in, I never had an issue with the SD Card port. I wonder if it's a firmware upgrade that was done?

Thank you.
Heath, there 'may have' been a cable or connector inadvertently left unplugged during re-assembly. I've been guilty of that a few times in all the years I worked as an equipment maintenance technician.

I would call and calmly advise them of what has happened and ask for expedited repairs since you feel this problem was induced during the original repair process.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 08:23 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 149
Heath, which camera/model do you have? And how did your FW port get fried? If you don't mind me asking.
Brian Ladue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 11:35 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orange County
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Ladue View Post
Heath, which camera/model do you have? And how did your FW port get fried? If you don't mind me asking.
I have the HD100u with the A upgrade. The DR-100 firestore stopped working with the camera and at that point, I couldn't even dump footage from tape. That part of the camera is working great now, and I purchased a no power firewire cable, just in case.
__________________
Heath Vinyard
www.ghostlandmedia.com
Heath Vinyard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 10:53 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 149
Thanks Heath, so was it the Firestore that caused the problem or would it have been your computer?
Brian Ladue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2007, 09:39 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Orange County
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Ladue View Post
Thanks Heath, so was it the Firestore that caused the problem or would it have been your computer?
Well, I'd have to assume it was the firestore connection that caused it, but it was really me hot swapping the device and not the device itself.
__________________
Heath Vinyard
www.ghostlandmedia.com
Heath Vinyard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network