Final Cut Express Compatibility at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM6xx, HM7xx and HM8xx ProHD camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2009, 05:21 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 178
Final Cut Express Compatibility

By the way, some good news on HM100 & HM700 file compatibility for the budget-minded:

The clips work in Final Cut Express. (The PR and product literature only seem to talk about "Final Cut Studio")

This is probably an issue for fewer than 1% of HM700 buyers, but might be important for people upgrading from prosumer gear to the HM100.

In my case, I'm upgrading from prosumer, leaning heavily toward the HM700. I've currently got Final Cut Express... given that Apple is very likely to have a new release of Final Cut Studio in the near future, it could be a waste of money for me to upgrade now, and then upgrade again two months from now. So I'm glad that I can hold out with what I've got before dropping big $$$ on new software in addition to a new camera.

An important note, however, is that Final Cut Express includes far fewer sequence presets than Final Cut Studio. It can do 1920x1080 60i, but not 30p, for example. If you want to work in 30p progressive, your only sequence preset is 1280x720.
Bob Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 05:51 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Had you already downloaded the open-source XDCAM Component?

When you drop the first clip into a new sequence does FCE ask you to match the settings?

You should be able to make any preset setting you want, even in FCE.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2009, 06:25 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Dashwood View Post
Had you already downloaded the open-source XDCAM Component?
No to my knowledge, unless it came along for the ride with a 3rd-party utility like Visual Hub or VideoLan.

Quote:
When you drop the first clip into a new sequence does FCE ask you to match the settings?
No, the behavior of FCE is to conform the clips to the current sequence settings using a combination of zoom and aspect ratio distortion under the "Motion" tab

Quote:
You should be able to make any preset setting you want, even in FCE.
Sadly, not according to discussions I've seen online, such as:
Apple - Support - Discussions - "...in a custom Sequence Preset Editor." ...
Bob Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 02:58 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4
Final Cut Express 4 and JVC 700U

I purchased a mac book pro with FCE 4 pre-installed. I also downloaded and installed perian 1.1.3. & DivX for Mac. I shot some test footage with my new JVC at 1920x1080 60iHQ. Imported video with SDHC card reader. I can see the quicktime clips but when I click on the clips I get no video. Just a black screen that won't play. Frustrated, any suggestions. Thanks
Marc Manley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 04:31 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 178
In the days since I first posted about this, I've been wondering if the fact that I have another pro app installed, Logic Pro 8, means that Apple has delivered to me more pro features and codecs in QuickTime via various software updates?

My camera has been delayed yet again, supposedly it will arrive for me tomorrow, and I can do some more tests.

Is there anyone out there with just Final Cut Express, an no other Apple pro apps, who has successfully downloaded/played the sample clips that are out there already?
Bob Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 01:56 PM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4
I do have an appointment at the Apple Store with a FCP & FCE4 experienced Tech. May have some insight tomorrow.
Marc Manley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 02:08 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Eureka, Calif.
Posts: 98
Could it even be as simple and easy that it requires QT Pro to work and not just the free version??

I don't get my FCE 4 until Thurs. for my MacBook and HM100 :(
Shaun Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 02:47 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
You won't need Quicktime Pro. Just download and install the open-source XDCAM component for quicktime. Discrete Cosine: Perian for Pro Codecs - Free HDV/DVCProHD/XDcam decoders

I've even used HM100 clips in iMovie09 with this component installed so I'm sure it will also work fine with FCE. I don't own FCE so I can't personally test it or give you any further guidance on how to configure your sequence settings.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 02:51 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Eureka, Calif.
Posts: 98
What hardware are folks using with FCE 4 and 35Mbps 1080 .mov clips?

How does it perform, speed-wise?

Do you later convert it into something else?

... Thanks!
Shaun Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 10:12 PM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4
I tried the download with no success.
Marc Manley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 10:46 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Eureka, Calif.
Posts: 98
Marc, what machine/processor and version of OS X are you using?
Shaun Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2009, 08:45 AM   #12
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4
I am using mac os x version 10.5.7 and 2.66GH Intel Core 2 Duo processor.I have been to the mac store. They say if you Download Quicktime Pro for $29.99 it should work? We installed Perian XDcam,DivX with no luck. I was also told you can download VLC Player
VLC media player - Open Source Multimedia Framework and Player for playback omly of footage. I'm done with FCE & going with FCP studio 2.
Marc Manley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2009, 01:42 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Eureka, Calif.
Posts: 98
older MacBook 1.87Ghz working well ...

I just got my 3?-yr-old white MacBook 1.87Ghz Core2Duo w/ 10.5x(latest), latest QT (NON-Pro), 200GB 7200rpm Fujitsu, and 2GB RAM working w/ FCE and the PerianXDCam.component in my MacHD/Library/Quicktime.
I have a sweeeet Apple Cinema 20" 1680x1050 that works well, though I might upgrade to a 24/26/28" 1920x1200 this summer.

I can't get full-30fps 1920x1080i/35Mbps playback with FCE or QT Player, but it's not too bad ... pretty smooth and 20fps?
I'm sure that's because I have the weak, older Intel integrated/shared graphics, not due to the older CPU ... RIGHT?

WOW, yikes ... I've gotta get myself and external h.264 encoder for converting down web video sizes or other forms -- What a slooooooow process even for short, lo-res little projects with the old MacBook. I'm looking at probably getting the Matrox MXO2 MiniMax for Laptops with HDMI video monitoring for editing (which might even make the MacBook non-30fps playback irrelevant when in use? -- not sure).
Matrox MXO2 Mini - Overview
Shaun Walker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network