TC Display on Clip Playback? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM6xx, HM7xx and HM8xx ProHD camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 28th, 2009, 09:22 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 73
TC Display on Clip Playback?

The manual for the HM700 says you can do this on the bottom-left of page 61 but it doesn't offer how to actually make the timecode display on the flip-out screen or the viewfinder. I've tried every possibility I can think of including the mysterious "TC" label above-left of the cross-button with lines to User1 and to the Menu button. Clues, anyone? Without going into boring detail, enabling this will save me a lot of time.

Thanks,
Don Smith
NewsVideo.com
Donald Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2009, 09:35 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 73
And, before you ask, yes, I have TC displayed on the shooting screen and yes, I have the TC display set to ON beneath the flip-out screen.

But, while I'm at it, does anyone know if its possible to set the clips to play one after the other automatically? That would be another huge timesaver for me.

To explain, I shot a piece in progressive mode and the client wants a DV-NTSC 4x3 Anamorphic version, but there are horizontal line artifacts in the video. No conversion process I've tried, and I've tried many, can cure that, but the camera can do the conversion much better than software. It's just that I've got to play the clips "squeezed" out the Firewire port and capture the video.

Don Smith
NewsVideo.com
Donald Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2009, 09:50 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 73
OK, found Status Screen in SD Card Mode on p. 96, but the technical writer still omits how to make that screen appear. I only get "PLAY" or "STILL" displayed right now. Somewhere, there's Status 1 and Status 2 screens for SD card playback and I'm still looking to find where to enable that. I know its there somewhere. What I'm not so sure about is the ability to play multiple clips in sequence without stopping at the end of each clip and requiring operator intervention to start the next clip.
Donald Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2009, 09:56 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 73
Short between the headphones on the continuous playback of clips. It's doing it now. I wrote about first when it appeared that one clip stopped at the end. Sorry about posting that problem, but I still need a leg-up on getting TC to display on the clip playback.
Donald Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2009, 11:08 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 73
(12 hours later)

Found it. Page 10, item 7. But, the clearest statement is on page 17, top left, where it says "The display switches between the 3 screen types with every press of the [STATUS] button."

Thanks to everyone for your help.
Donald Smith is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network