Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM6xx, HM7xx and HM8xx ProHD camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 27th, 2009, 03:56 PM   #1
Go Cycle
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 734
TIP: Fixing Dead pixels on the JVC GY HM700

.WARM CAMERA FOR 30 MINUTES

.SET CAMERA TO 720 60P

.POWER-UP PLUS PUSH THE DISPLAY BUTTON AT THE SAME TIME WHILE CAMERA IS POWERING.

.PRESS....MENU PLUS FOCUS ASSIST BUTTON AT THE SAME TIME

.ADVANCE MENU WILL APPEAR

.SCROLL TO ADVANCE FUNCTION

.PUSH: SET BUTTON

.SCROLL TO THE WORD: PIXEL COMPENDET

.PUSH: SET TO EXECUTE

.NOW: PHYSICALLY EXECUTE THE PROCESS

.EXECUTING WILL FLASH THEN STOP

NO MORE DEAD PIXEL(S)


Good Luck,

Lou Bruno
__________________
Lou Bruno
Lou Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 03:53 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 572
Thanks! I'm less concerned about ordering one now... being 3 hours from the closest dealer, I would have to dedicate a day driving to and from just to fix a stuck pixel before a shoot.
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2009, 03:15 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silkeborg Denmark
Posts: 93
Thanks Bruno - much appreciated!
Peter Erfurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 09:37 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: london uk
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lou Bruno View Post

.EXECUTING WILL FLASH THEN STOP

NO MORE DEAD PIXEL(S)o
I don't need it just now, but does this work on the HM100, anyone know?
Simon Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2009, 08:45 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 457
Maybe we can post this as a sticky?
Simon, it doesn't work on HM100- you'll have to send it in for service!
Robert Rogoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 07:05 PM   #6
Go Cycle
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 734
Hang in there. I will get the menu sequence for the 100 if it is available....takes me awhile to figure this out...but I will try my best.


CHRIS-Can you make this thread a sticky?
__________________
Lou Bruno
Lou Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2009, 04:33 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 9
Dead pixel

When accessing the advanced menu the camera seems to automatically detect the dead pixel(s). I couldn't enter the menu line 'pixel compen det' but after leaving the menu the dead pixel was gone. Dead simple! Maybe when there is more than one dead pixel the procedure is different?
Peter Lataster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2009, 02:34 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Schwabach (Germany - Bavaria)
Posts: 195
It is different, but when you switch on the focus assist you see the dead-pixels highlighted.
That will help you to detect them.
Eric Deyerler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2009, 03:29 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: london uk
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lou Bruno View Post
Hang in there. I will get the menu sequence for the 100 if it is available....takes me awhile to figure this out...but I will try my best.


CHRIS-Can you make this thread a sticky?
Lou, many thanks. But no hurry – I don't have any dead pixels at this time but thought it might be useful for people to know if it exists. regards simon.
Simon Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 07:25 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Schwabach (Germany - Bavaria)
Posts: 195
Every fifty operation-hours double the dead pixel, now I got over 120 hours of operation, today I see a new dead-pixel - same procedure then two month ago. 70 hours without a new dead pixel, but today I shot quite 4 hours nonstop and a new dead-pixel is born.

I think the CCD isn't quite good enough. Next time I will post a picture with the detected highlighted dead pixels - helpful is to use the focus assist -so you can see easily the dead pixels.
Eric Deyerler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 12:11 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: california North and South
Posts: 572
Remember it's not hours of use how you get them. They are being hit by xray and other radiation from space. Most cameras are about half resolution and have so much stretching and pixelshifting as well as masking so you don't often see these problems. Higher elevations and closer to the poles you get them more often as well as durring solar storms. So if you are working or at least traveling near the poles (north and south) be prepared to do it more often. I would try to eyball it every day with a monitor before you start, but that might be overkill.
Alex Humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 12:35 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Schwabach (Germany - Bavaria)
Posts: 195
I don't live in the polar region (in the south of Germany - Bavaria), I don't go by airplane,
only by train, heat will be also responsible for dead pixel, because the 3ccd (each build of
two ccd's) warming up the Cam after some hours - and heat causes dead-pixel.

The last 70 fanhours I don't see the dead-pixels, but I see it today during a shot with 720p24, undercranking and slow-shutter. And I work four hours without a rest.

But I know it from other cams, is it a problem also on CMOS (?!).

Another thing is that the fan-hour that's shown in the menu, is less (in hours) then I really shot with the cam.
Eric Deyerler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 02:35 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 183
Re: TIP: Fixing Dead pixels on the JVC GY HM700

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lou Bruno View Post
.WARM CAMERA FOR 30 MINUTES

.SET CAMERA TO 720 60P

.POWER-UP PLUS PUSH THE DISPLAY BUTTON AT THE SAME TIME WHILE CAMERA IS POWERING.

.PRESS....MENU PLUS FOCUS ASSIST BUTTON AT THE SAME TIME

.ADVANCE MENU WILL APPEAR

.SCROLL TO ADVANCE FUNCTION

.PUSH: SET BUTTON

.SCROLL TO THE WORD: PIXEL COMPENDET

.PUSH: SET TO EXECUTE

.NOW: PHYSICALLY EXECUTE THE PROCESS

.EXECUTING WILL FLASH THEN STOP

NO MORE DEAD PIXEL(S)


Good Luck,

Lou Bruno
Sorry for digging up this older thread, but I have a question about getting in the advanced menu of the camera.

I've put the HM700 in the 1280x720 and 60p(HQ) and switched it off.
But the next step is a bit unclear to me. Do I have to turn the camera on while already pressing the display button and keep pressing it until the camera is completely powered up or do I have to switch the camera on and immediately after that press the display button briefly and then follow the next steps? I've tried many different combinations, but so far unsuccessfully. So I must be doing something wrong.
__________________
Derran
Blog | Website
Derran Rootring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 02:56 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: West Sussex England
Posts: 472
Re: TIP: Fixing Dead pixels on the JVC GY HM700

Hi,

Press and hold down the display button and then power up.

Likewise press and hold the focus assist and then press the menu button.


Worked for me, hope it does for you

Mick
__________________
www.nature-on-film.co.uk
Mick Jenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2011, 02:57 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 183
Re: TIP: Fixing Dead pixels on the JVC GY HM700

Thanks Mick, will try it out!
__________________
Derran
Blog | Website
Derran Rootring is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network