mono clips not stereo at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM6xx, HM7xx and HM8xx ProHD camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 23rd, 2009, 03:34 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lewisville, NC
Posts: 14
mono clips not stereo

On my HM700 I cannot figure out how to get my audio to record to a mono ch1 & ch2 clip. When I bring my clips into Final Cut the audio is stereo with ch1 as L and Ch2 as R. I really need to be able to have two mics going, one to ch1 the other to ch2, and then in post be able to select and manipulate each channel individually without having to pan and duplicate tracks. I have combed through the menus and the manual to no avail. I'm sure it's something simple that I'm missing. thanks for any help.

KG
Kevin Gallagher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 08:52 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 73
Very, very simple if I understand you correctly. You route the audio with the switches just above where you plug in the mic's.
Donald Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 12:38 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Hi Kevin

I think what you are saying is that in FCP you would like to control the levels and pan of ch1 and ch2 individually. This is actually a simple thing to do.

When you bring the HM700 clips into FCP they default into a single "stereo" pair where ch1 is panned to left and ch2 is panned to the right and any adjustment in level adjusts both channels simultaneously. This is the way the HM cameras flag the audio when encapsulating to quicktime. You could manually open each quicktime and change it in Quicktime Player Pro to two mono tracks but that would take too much time and it is easy to deal with this in FCP. (BTW I tried writing an Applescript applet to do change the source quicktimes but the channel assignment doesn't seem to be part of the Quicktime scriptable library.)
Name:  1 stereo.png
Views: 97
Size:  7.0 KB

When you edit a clip into the sequence this "stereo pairing" is indicated by 4 little green triangles.Name:  stereo pair indicators.png
Views: 407
Size:  1.8 KB

You can unpair your stereo tracks into separately controllable tracks by selecting all your audio clips and hitting option+L on your keyboard. You can also use the same option in the Modify menu. This is a toggle function so you can also re-pair them later.
Name:  stereo pair menu.png
Views: 442
Size:  36.0 KB
After unpairing ch1 will still be panned left and ch2 panned right but you can pan them to the center and adjust their levels individually.

You can also now use copy and the contextual menu option "paste attributes" to adjust one clip to center pan and then paste that attribute to all other clips in your sequence.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2009, 09:18 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lewisville, NC
Posts: 14
Thanks Tim, you're a rock star!
Kevin Gallagher is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network