HM700 with Tricaster at

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM6xx, HM7xx and HM8xx ProHD camcorders & decks.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2009, 03:58 PM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 9
HM700 with Tricaster

Greetings, have any of you used a hm 700 with a Tricaster switcher? I would like to set up mobile switching rig for events with the 700 in a studio config with rear controls and LCD monitor and using the SDI out to a NewTek tricaster switcher. I currently have a GY250, but the studio config package is a bit pricey once you add on the ccu's and cabling.
Travis Bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2009, 09:35 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Teaneck, NJ
Posts: 659
Haven't used JVC HM to Tricaster but can't imagine why it would not work. I've used EX-1/3 via SDI (downrezed, of course, since this was prior to the HD version) without any problems.

Currently evaluating the 3Play for an article and it will take any HD signal via SDI or component that you can throw at it.
Ned Soltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2010, 01:57 PM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wheaton, Maryland
Posts: 2
HM700 with Tricaster


You can certainly use a Hm700 with Tricaster how which version may depend on what you can and cannot do with it. If it's a Broadcast, you can down-converter the HD-SDI out of the JVC camera so it's sending SDI in either, 4:3 or 16:9. As far as LCD monitor, you wouldn't need one as the camera has a flip-out LCD monitor on it. So rear lens controls for zoom and focus are easy from (depending on which lens you have) Canon or Fujinon or other makes are out there too. I can get you any of them. We are a Tricaster Elite dealer as well as JVC, Panasonic, Sony Broadcast. You could also do this with a GY-HD250U in a quasi studio config. In case you're not aware, there's another manufacturer making mobile adapters to change the component to 26pin, with full intercom, so you'd only have to purchase that, the CCU and cable and your done. You wouldn't need the big studio sled option. But by the time you add a LCD monitor you're pretty much at the price of a HM700 and it's more portable and you could ISO record in camera with the SDHC cards. Even having more battery time ENG is a plus since the camera has no moving parts like heads etc.... And the HM700 is FULL 1920x1080 where I don't believe the HD250 isn't, I believe that camera is 1440-1080 and mainly only a 720p HDV camcorder.

Keep in mind the XD300 Tricaster HD unit is shipping, so you would have to down-converter anything with 2 or 3 camera's live. It could all be high def and you could edit the final right in SpeedEdit which comes on either system and final it however you need, SD or HD or WebVideo.

Thanks for considering WPS for your system needs.

All the best,
Dominic Cappelletti
301-942-6800 ext.121
800-718-0818 ext.121
Dominic Cappelletti is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network