Importing into Premiere CS3.2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM6xx, HM7xx and HM8xx ProHD camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 7th, 2010, 06:55 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 473
Importing into Premiere CS3.2

Just got the camera and shot at 1920x1080 60i HQ. Now trying to import into Premiere CS3.2 When I set the desktop project to those settings and use firewire, I'll see the time code incrementing in the capture window but no video or audio. Tried composite video through a DSR 45 to fire wire in and the with a DV 16x9 project and it read it/displayed it as 4x3. Can anyone tell me what they are using to make this work?

New PC and CS 5 are clearly in order but I've got to get this footage edited and to a client soon.

TIA
Rob Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2010, 11:08 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Firewire will only work on the HM700 if you shot in the 25mbps bitrate. If you shot at 35mbps (a.k.a. "HQ") it cannot downsample to firewire.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2010, 11:15 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 473
Tim,

Thanks for the info. So, now what do I do? Any thoughts on why my composite thru a DV deck are ending up 4x3 in Premiere?
Rob Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2010, 11:57 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
I'm not a Premiere expert but I would assume the deck isn't sending the "anamorphic" flag through firewire because it is just being used as a passthrough. I'm sure its not a big deal and you can just reinterpret the pixel aspect ratio after it is captured.

Is there any reason you aren't just using a SDHC card reader and editing with the files? I have a tutorial on it here: ProHD Tutorials at DVInfo.net
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2010, 09:33 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 473
Tim,

Tried that first. When I try to import the MP4 I receive a message saying it's either an unsupported format or damaged file. I'm setting up the project as a XDCAM EX (HQ) 1080i. Copied the files (same as in your tutorial) from the card to the project folder on the hard drive. Any thoughts?

(I know I'm going to love this tapeless workflow soon)
Rob Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2010, 12:46 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 699
Hi Rob.

Did you shoot as MP4 or .MOV.? Premiere will not import .MOV

When you do the capture does it actually capture anything? Mine doesn't show an image when capturing HD.

If you are stuck use this free programme to convert your MP4, or MOV to MP2, I did this with the .MOVs that I recorded and they work in Premiere with no problem.

http://www.mik-digital.de/tool/MP4toMPGv3.exe

I found it on a link from this forum here:
http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/jvc-gy-h...e-mov-mp4.html
George Kilroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2010, 12:58 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 473
George,

I shot in MP4 thinking it would import seemlessly (Ha!). I'll have to give it a try and see if the black screen during caputure is actually the image on play back. Think ultimately I've got to get CS5 and do this right.
Rob Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2010, 01:45 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands UK
Posts: 699
Hi Rob, I've just noticed that you've using CS3, I'm on 4 so I'm not sure if that will import 35mb MP4s.

Why not give the MIK-Digital a go. It worked for me unpacking the MP4 to an MP2, I think CS3 should accept that. There is no transcoding involved so no loss of image quality.

Whatever you do, good luck with it, I know that transferring from shooting/editing DV to HD is fraught with problems.
George Kilroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2010, 02:53 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Wilson View Post
Tim,

Tried that first. When I try to import the MP4 I receive a message saying it's either an unsupported format or damaged file. I'm setting up the project as a XDCAM EX (HQ) 1080i. Copied the files (same as in your tutorial) from the card to the project folder on the hard drive. Any thoughts?

(I know I'm going to love this tapeless workflow soon)
Since you shot in MP4 wrapper you should be fine. Are you sure you shot in 1080i and not 1080p? CS3 is compatible with XDCAM EX but if you can upgrade to the 64bit version in CS5 it is well worth upgrade fee.

If you are getting those error messages I would suggest you uninstall and then reinstall Premiere and then run the Adobe updater. Premiere may need to install the mpeg2 codec for XDCAM EX and that may be an optional install in the installer. I honestly can't remember now its been so long since I installed anything from CS3.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network