Not Marketing but a heads up- SDHC Cards at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM6xx, HM7xx and HM8xx ProHD camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 7th, 2011, 04:51 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 58
Not Marketing but a heads up- SDHC Cards

32 GB Class 10 SDHC Cards on Woot.com today for $35.00! Cannot vouch for the brand (Centon) but the proce seems pretty good.
Tracy Foust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 02:09 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 25
Problem with 32 GB Cards

For over a year now I've been using Transcend 16 GB class 6 cards in my HM700 with absolutely no problems. I recently had a job that I thought it would be best to use 32 GB cards. Unfortunately I didn't have time to order Transcend cards so I went to Micro-Center, a local computer and electronics megastore and bought 3 Micro-Center labeled (not sure who actually manufactures them) 32 GB class 6 cards because they were considerably cheaper than the ScanDisk cards. On the first day of the shoot about 20 recorded minutes into the first card I got a error message that read "Unrecognizable Media". The camera would not read anything from the card. I switched to the second card and again after about 20 minutes of recording I got the same message. I switched to one of my Transcend 16 GB cards and continued recording the rest of the day with no problems. When I got home that night I put both cards in my i-Mac and the first card had all the clips that were recorded prior to the incident. The second card had all the clips with the exception of the last clip which was listed as a QuickTime file but would not play when I tried to view it. Being a masochist, the next day I started out using the 3rd 32 GB card and of course the same thing happened, again after about 20 minutes of recording. Has anyone had any similar problems? Could it be the off brand cards? Is there something I need to do on the camera? I have another job coming up that would benefit from using 32 GB cards but I'm leery of spending the money on name brand cards if the same problem may occur.
__________________
Producer/Director/FCP Editor
Dan Magnafichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2011, 08:51 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 49
To be honest, I only use sandisk at this point. Any other cards I have tried to use always wield an error message eventually.
__________________
JVC GY-HM700u
www.dumbluckltd.com
Stephen Dougherty is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 600/700/800 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network