Question about HM100 and importing files from Vegas 9 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 70/100/150 Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HM 70/100/150 Series Camera Systems
GY-HM70, HM100, HM150 recording AVCHD MP4 & QuickTime .MOV to SDHC cards.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 14th, 2009, 12:01 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 431
Question about HM100 and importing files from Vegas 9

I posted this question on the Vegas section but didn't get a reply hopefully someone here could help me. When I open up device explorer in Vegas 9 the files on my JVC HM100 SDHC card doesn't appear on the device explorer window list. I already install both the clip browser and SxS software. Does the device explorer support importing from SDHC?
__________________
-kAj
http://www.sweetproductionmedia.com/
Kajito Nagib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 06:32 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Using Clip Browser, copy the files from your SDHC cards to a folder on your HDD. Open Vegas 9 and go to, View/Device Explorer. Right click in left pane/ Browse and navigate to the folder you saved your files to. Import. Job done
__________________
Colin

Last edited by Colin Rowe; June 14th, 2009 at 07:10 PM.
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2009, 08:10 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 203
So - has anybody tried to use .mp4 files from the HM100 directly on the timeline? Does it work in Vegas 9.0? I am going back and forth whether I should upgrade from 8.0 and Sony could not give me a definitive answer if the new version will work with HM100 files natively...
Matthias Krause is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2009, 03:31 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Yes it works like a dream, when using the above method. open device explorer and drag the clips straight into your project.
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2009, 05:16 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 431
Colin it didn't work. I open clip browser then copied the files from my SDHC card to my hard drive. In Vegas I opened device explorer instead of XDCAM explorer like I did the first time
in the left pane it says "no device conected" but I go ahead and right click browse locate the BPAV folder where I saved my files then I click on the subfolder but the "ok" button is grayed out so I can't click on it.
__________________
-kAj
http://www.sweetproductionmedia.com/
Kajito Nagib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2009, 05:53 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Hi Kajito. I dont know what the problem could be. I would uninstall and reinstall Vegas. It may just sort it out. You should not have to clck on the sub folder, Vegas device explorer will show the thumbnails of clips if you simply browse and select the folder you copied files to. As soon as a folder containing clips is recognised, the ok option should be available.
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2009, 06:53 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 203
Kajito, just to make sure: You do have the latest version of Vegas PRO, right? Retails for $599 or so... Because any of the STUDIO Versions like the "Studio Platinum Pro Pack" won´t cut it.
Matthias Krause is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 12:42 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 431
I upgraded from Vegas 8 Pro to 9. I'll reinstall to see if that helps
I'll let you know. Have you had any problems with rendering in Vegas 9? Maybe reinstalling will take care of that to:-(
__________________
-kAj
http://www.sweetproductionmedia.com/
Kajito Nagib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 01:04 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 431
Reinstalled problem solved:-)
I just dragged my .mp4 files from the HM100 directly on the timeline
worked like a charm.
__________________
-kAj
http://www.sweetproductionmedia.com/
Kajito Nagib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2009, 06:33 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kajito Nagib View Post
I upgraded from Vegas 8 Pro to 9. I'll reinstall to see if that helps
I'll let you know. Have you had any problems with rendering in Vegas 9? Maybe reinstalling will take care of that to:-(
No problems at all
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HM 70/100/150 Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network