Panasonic Master Tape Quality Better? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 17th, 2003, 12:45 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 319
Panasonic Master Tape Quality Better?

Anyone here using the AY-DVM63MQ or equivelants Mini-dv tape to shoot on? These tapes are easily distinguishable by the fact that the case is white and that high price.

Is there a visible difference to shooting on this stock over the lower level Panasonic stock? I have used a lot of the lower level stock for a while and found it comparable, but I haven't done extensive tests.

http://www.tapeandmedia.com/mini_dv_...nic_master.asp this link is an example of this stock
John Threat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2003, 12:59 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
The higher end MQ tapes (more expensive) should have fewer dropouts and withstand FF and REW better then lesser tapes. No visible image difference would be seen (except fewer dropouts). The shell is said to help promote the fewer dropouts and long term stability (archivalness) with the use of better components and the use of anti-static materials.

I use the DVM60EJ tapes and have no dropouts. I never shuttle my tapes or pause them. If they were subjected to that type of abuse, I would use the MQ tapes.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2003, 01:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sicklerville, NJ
Posts: 59
John,

I've switched to the AY-DVM63MQ tapes and have noticed fewer dropouts and glitches. It's a bit more expensive, but it's worth it.

HTH

Bill
Bill Markel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2003, 04:07 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
I never get drop outs.

I use Maxell tape six for 22 bucks at Sams.

Do any of you get drop outs?
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2003, 06:13 PM   #5
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I did get drop outs with the Maxells my clients provided. Since then, I supply the tapes and bill the client.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2003, 10:59 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 166
I use the Maxells from Sam's and get a dropout on probably 1-2 of each set of six tapes (I'm at tape number 89)
I switched to the AY-DVM63MQ's for my important gigs and have had NO dropouts in 15 tapes.
__________________
Michael A Westphal
Michael Westphal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2003, 12:41 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lake Park, Florida
Posts: 202
I stick with the highly recommended Fuji DVM60 tapes. I put them thru some abuse while editing and they stay looking good. I have also gone over old footage already and had no real problems. I don't think Fuji makes a head cleaner though.
__________________
http://www.veoh.com/channels/filmmaker
My clips and films.
Bob Benkosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2003, 01:26 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
Were do you buy your tape I canít seam to find that much variety around here?
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2003, 05:19 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lake Park, Florida
Posts: 202
I actually got a great deal from Ebay from someone in Hong Kong. I think I paid $23 for 5 Fuji tapes shipped. Totally worth it.
__________________
http://www.veoh.com/channels/filmmaker
My clips and films.
Bob Benkosky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2003, 06:31 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 301
I started using the AY-DVM63PQ from Pro-Tape (around $3.99 each), when I got my GL1 back from a factory cleaning/adjustment. What is the difference in that tape and the "MQ"? No matter - I've been happy with it!
__________________
Mark Moore
Sugar Free Productions
Mark Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 07:55 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
Thanks for the reply I will check out Pro Tape.
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2003, 09:43 PM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
One of the differences between MQ and PQ is where they take the tape from. PQ tapes are spooled from the ends of the reel while MQ comes from the center. According to the people I have talked to, the MQs use the better section of the tape.

I'd rather pay the $1-$2 difference.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2003, 07:42 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 301
Thanks, Nathan. I didn't know that, and I was sure there was reason for the price difference.
__________________
Mark Moore
Sugar Free Productions
Mark Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2003, 03:33 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vimeiro - Portugal
Posts: 255
I'v been using the Pro and Master series and I'm happy with both.
But, that's since I started "striping" (recording black video and time code) them. Some time ago I posted this issue and a lot of people told me that it was just a waste of time and camera ware. The fact is that I shot a wedding with fresh out of the box tapes and it took me long hours on post to get rid of all the dropouts and glitches. I was MAD, realy MAD. Since then, I stripe all my tapes and never ever had a dropout, not one. The reason? I don't know the exact explanation, but I would suspect it could have something to do with fresh tapes not having time code. I'm aware that this represents more camera head degradation, but I prefer that, then seeing my footage spoiled.

Best regards
Arnaldo
Arnaldo Paixao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2003, 05:52 AM   #15
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
I never stripe my tapes. The only time I have problems is when I am not cautious about starting my camcorder over a valid t/c.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network