DV to DVCAM transfer? Stupid question winner at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2009, 08:35 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
DV to DVCAM transfer? Stupid question winner

Anyone sure about this?

If I tape with a DV SP format camera and then transfer to a DVCAM format deck via firewire, do I really have a DVCAM format now? Are there tracking or other problems if i do this?
I realize that a transfer from one format to another if fine but since both signals are so alike, I'm wondering if this is legit..
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2009, 08:00 AM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia (formerly Winnipeg, Manitoba) Canada
Posts: 4,086
The last time I tried this (admittedly over 8 years ago), you COULDN'T play DV material out over FW to a DVCam device for recording as the DVCam device (in my case a Sony DSR200 camera w. VTR "mode") "saw" the unlocked audio and stopped recording.

Playing out from an NLE is altogether different, unless I'm mistaken. I've worked exclusively in DVCam over DV for so long now I can't say I've tried to "print back" to DVCam any DV sourced material in a LONG time.
Shaun C. Roemich Road Dog Media - Vancouver, BC - Videographer - Webcaster
www.roaddogmedia.ca Blog: http://roaddogmedia.wordpress.com/
Shaun Roemich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2009, 08:08 AM   #3
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,448
I've transferred DV tapes to DVCAM before, from one deck to another, via firewire. No problems. The DVCAM version would be DVCAM, since that deck only recorded DVCAM. But there's not going to be any difference in quality. My reason for doing it was because the guy who had shot the DV tapes was an amateur and had timecode breaks everyplace. I can't think of any other reason to do that, except maybe to consolidate several smaller tapes onto a 3 hour cassette or something like that. I used two DSR1800 decks for that process. They will play DV but only record DVCAM.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2009, 12:01 AM   #4
Inner Circle
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 2,032
If you should get an issue with the deck stopping due to unlocked audio, just capturing in to the computer over firewire and then out via the same to a deck recording in DVCAM will do the trick.

The main difference between the formats is that the tape runs through a little faster when recording to DVCAM, hence the shorter period of time that the same tape will last for.
Andrew Smith is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network