Playing MiniDV Tapes In Different Camcorders at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2009, 12:11 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Hays, Kansas
Posts: 10
Playing MiniDV Tapes In Different Camcorders

Hello,

I'm needing some advice regarding the use of miniDV tapes in different camcorders. Specifically, I have a few Sony HD miniDV tapes that were recorded using the Canon XH-A1. Unfortunately, I no longer have this camcorder, but I'm needing to dump the video on those tapes on my computer. I have a Sony HC9, and I'd like to know if it would be ok to place those miniDV tapes that were originally used in the XH-A1 into my HC9 just so I can dump the video on those tapes via firewire into my computer. The miniDV tapes are actually the same ones I currently use in my HC9, but I'm not sure if it would be recommended or is safe to place those tapes in the HC9. I just want to make sure that I don't damage the tapes or cause damage to my HC9. Any advice that someone might have for me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
CJ Engel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2009, 01:38 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edgewood, NM
Posts: 162
There really isn't any issue here - these are minidv tapes, and Sony to boot. Unless the tape is damaged, go right on ahead.
Gene Gajewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 10:01 AM   #3
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
No problem there, assuming the tapes were shot at 60i or in standard definition. If you shot in 24F, then the Sony camera won't play them. However, you won't hurt anything by trying. The miniDV tapes can be used in any miniDV or HDV device.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 10:17 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
I'll try to stick to the topic without going overboard:

As Bill and Gene said, yes, you can do this. The whole "putting tapes in another cam" thing becomes more and more subjective with newer technology. But you will always have the old-school guys like myself that will never move a tape from one cam to another, still ff and rew every tape before using, never record on the first or last minute of tape, etc....Plus you are only using the tapes for capture, not to record over, shuttle through, etc...

and now I'm going overboard...lol! So the answer is yes, what Bill said : )

same brand same tape + proper framerate = good (unless you're oldschool!)

JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 10:49 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 19
on a slight tangent question to this, what about just using a deck to avoid wear and tear on any of the cameras? How cheap can you get a deck?
Scott Timothy Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 12:21 PM   #6
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Sony's M1AU is about $2,000 at B&H. Allegedly it will play Canon's 24F footage OK. The M35 also plays it OK but it costs more.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 01:44 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor View Post
Sony's M1AU is about $2,000 at B&H. Allegedly it will play Canon's 24F footage OK. The M35 also plays it OK but it costs more.
Typo .... that's the Sony M15AU. I was interested and looked it up:
Sony | HVR-M15AU Desktop HDV VTR | HVR-M15AU | B&H Photo Video
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 04:02 PM   #8
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Oops. Yeah, I must have missed the 5. Good catch, thanks!
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 05:29 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
Sony GV-HD700 is, last time I bought one, about $1000-1100, nicely compact with built-in monitor; must be durable and idiot-proof as they are used by a number of people here who have minimal technical training and have never given a problem....worth a look. / Battle Vaughan/miamiherald.com video team

PS Here's a link: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...o_Walkman.html
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2009, 05:48 PM   #10
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I'm pretty sure that won't play Canon's 24F.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network