stripe all the way ! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 21st, 2004, 05:45 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 10
stripe all the way !

Hi,
I am using Canon XM2(GL2) and PPRO1.5.
I was rewinding and playing back the coverage that I just finished capturing.
I was completely shocked when I looked at the LCD screen while playing back the original - the screen has got all stripes about 10.
I thought it was going to be like that only at the beginning but it was like that about 10 minute and then back to normal.
What happened to my tape?????
I just suspect that while I was playing with AVI file PPRO put some images back on to the tape.
But is this possible? when I did not do "export to tape"?

Any experience?

Thanks!
Yes I am a novice.
__________________
PJ
Paul Juhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2004, 06:22 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
2 things about tape

whenever u use a new brand of tape, make sure u run a head cleaner BEFORE the change. This way you dont get cross contaminants on your head from different tapes which use different lubricants.

secondly and i know its tedious, FF then RWD the tape/s BEFORE you use them. This allows the camera to set the slack/tension according the cameras own motor drive.
It also loosens the tape from the spool.
SOme tapes have been on shelves for a very long time, this can c
cause the damage your experiencing.

I use 2 dvx100's and i use this routine before every job and i have NEVER had a drop out. (the DVX has niggly heads so thats saying something......)
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2004, 05:16 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sydney
Posts: 10
Thanks for the advice what about a deck?

I was using SONY tape and I am using JVC...
I never did head cleaning and FF and RW.
Which head cleaner do you use?

Thanks
Paul J
__________________
PJ
Paul Juhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2004, 06:33 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
If you see 10 stripes, then one of the 2 videoheads on the drum is (was) clogged. Run a cleaning tape. I have DVM12CL from Sony
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network