Reusing Tapes at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 21st, 2004, 10:20 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Reusing Tapes

I've read where we're not supposed to reuse tapes.

HOWEVER, does that apply to DVCAM tapes that are allegedly made of heartier materials? Because of their added expense, I only plan to reuse the DVCAM tapes maybe three times each.

Any feedback?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2004, 10:45 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It implies to all tapes for video. Including VHS tapes and whatever.
If you want to be professional do not re-use tape, unless for
testing purposes. The risk is just too great that you picked the
wrong tape and overwrite something import or the previous
magnetic signal is not completely wiped and you end up with
a busted tape footage wise.

If you shoot commercially where someone else is paying always
use new tapes (you can charge them for this), tape is cheap.

If you shoot for yourself you can take the gamble if you want. I
know I ain't (I don't do commercial work, only for myself and I
just buy new tape).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2004, 11:14 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Second Question

MUST I use DVCAM tape in my PD 170 to shoot in DVCAM mode or may I use a good regular non-DVCAM SONY tape to shoot in DVCAM mode?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2004, 03:37 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm sorry, but I can't answer that question. I have no idea. I do
know that in DVCAM mode the tape runs 1.5x faster through the
camera (hence the recording time of only 40 minutes). I also know
that most people just use the camera in regular DV mode.

See the thread below:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=24713

A DVCAM tape might be build to more stringent requirements to
make sure it won't snap (or something) at the higher recording
speed, but I doubt much else will be different.

Keep in mind that there is absolutely no difference in recorded
signal between these two modes. The only difference is that
each frame is recorded over a longer piece of tape and thus
reduces the chance of dropouts or other tape problems.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network