DV to VHS at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 22nd, 2004, 06:46 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 13
DV to VHS (Attn. Rob L)

Hi!! Rob we sent you an email to visuar@iname.com however I don't think you got it. Took your advice and went direct fronm the computer to video which went great. However encountered a problem on play back. It flickers violently on the T.V although there is none on the computer. We've obviously done something wrong!!! What do you think the cause could be?

Gina Watteau (Mike's other half)
__________________
The mind is like a parachute........it works best when open! Anon.
Mike Watteau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2004, 08:11 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Hi Gina and Mike,

Looks like I didn't get it indeed. Something fishy must be going
on with my e-mail lately.

Can you please explain what method you used in the end? I don't
remember what I exactly told you to use. What equipment,
cables and software (with what settings/methods) did you use?

Sounds like the signal might not be in the format the recorder
expects it or perhaps some cable is faulty?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2004, 06:46 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Perth Western Australia
Posts: 13
DV to VHS

Hi Rob

I capture it from the vidcam to Pinnacle 9 where I edit/render. I then hook up vidcam via Firewire then to VHS recorder with cables supplied with vidcam then press record on VHS.
Regards Gina Watteau
__________________
The mind is like a parachute........it works best when open! Anon.
Mike Watteau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 23rd, 2004, 05:40 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
This is a bit of a mystery. My first suspect would be either a faulty
cable or used the wrong cable. Have you tried both composite
and s-video?

What happens if you print the footage to DV tape on your camera
(so without going straight to your VCR), rewind and then hit play
on the camera and record that?

It might be that the camera doesn't really like to do it in one go.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network