DVCAM vs Sony Premium at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 9th, 2002, 01:16 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Borås, Sweden
Posts: 167
DVCAM vs Sony Premium

Hm.. with all this discussion re. the dvcam vs normal minidv tape. My PD100 has a tendancy (hehe) to record in DVCam on normal MiniDV tape (ie. i only get 40 min out of a 60 min tape). But is this advisable if you shoot on the cheaper Sony tapes? Are the manifacturing process accurate enough to allow this?

Regards,
Henrik Bengtsson
DocuWild
Henrik Bengtsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2002, 03:09 AM   #2
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Personally, I would use DVCAM tape for a PD100A. I think Fuji makes it.
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2002, 09:16 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,922
In all likelyhood this camera has used Sony tapes. It would be unwise to switch to Fuji and risk gunking up the heads and the tape path.
Bryan Beasleigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2002, 10:25 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 123
i wrote about that earlier somewhere in that forum, but..
a couple of years ago i edited 'pet clinic' type documental soap. It was shot entirely with pd100 onto DV tapes. We had minor dropout problems with approx 90 tapes shot. I think, when using cheap tapes in DVCAM, you have less risk of dropouts than cheap tapes in DV. But that risk is quite small anyway.

regards, Margus
Margus Kivilaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2002, 11:30 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 730
this is a strange thing that happened to me while shooting.

I was using a sony pdf-150 provided by my university, it wasn't in the best of conditions, and i was shooting, and realised after i only got 40 mins to the tape, delved into the menu and found some strange settings.

When later it came to editing, i was getting break up and sound drops as well capturing straight from the tape.

was not fun.

Anyone shed some light on this? obviously this sounds like the camera was setup for dvcam, i dunno.

kermie
Zac Stein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2002, 02:48 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 123
kermie,
was that recording OK when playing back with camera?
did you use the same camera for feeding into computer?
i'm not familiar with editors, but don't believe that it was because of using DVCAM. Maybe because of head glogging or worn heads. (just guessing)

regards, Margus
Margus Kivilaan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network