Clone Mini DV Tape and Preserve Time code at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 19th, 2004, 08:12 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 331
Clone Mini DV Tape and Preserve Time code

How can I clone a Mini DV tape and preserve the time code on the original tape?

I tried cloning from a GL2 to a JVC deck, but the JVC started a new time code. Is it because I started the tape in the GL2 at a position other than the very beginning?


TIA.

Pete
Pete Wilie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2004, 09:57 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 242
You are using firewire to clone it right?
Brandon Greenlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2004, 10:29 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 331
Yes, I'm using Firewire.
Pete Wilie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2004, 08:29 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm pretty sure the camera is starting a new timecode since the
tape is blank (target tape). This is just how consumer camera's
work. I'd give you a better change if you buy or rent a DV Deck
to dub too (I'd guess it would have the option to use the incoming
TC or generate a new one).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2004, 02:31 PM   #5
JVC Regional Sales Engineer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wayne, NJ
Posts: 49
Not so simple

To make a timecode copy of a DV tape coming in over 1394 actually takes two TC "capabilities". The later BR-DV600UA decks and the current BR-DV3000U and BR-DV6000U can be set to TC DUP mode and they will record the timecode as it comes in over 1394.

This is a bit of an uncommon feature. Some people wanted it so we did build it in. Most decks don't do this.

I personnally wouldn't use the word clone since there is in fact a DV error rate that is always present on record and on playback. There could be a hundred errors per second but you wouldn't see them. But they do add up as you record, then play and record, and then play the copy.
__________________
Ken Freed
JVC Mid-Atlantic District Sales Manager
(201) 637-7706
kfreed@jvc.com
Ken Freed JVC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2004, 02:48 PM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Many thanks, Ken. Nice to see you posting here!
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2004, 06:45 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 331
Re: Not so simple

<<<-- Originally posted by Ken Freed JVC :
<snip>
I personnally wouldn't use the word clone since there is in fact a DV error rate that is always present on record and on playback. There could be a hundred errors per second but you wouldn't see them. But they do add up as you record, then play and record, and then play the copy.
</snip> -->>>

Ken,

Thanks for the info. Interesting comment about using the word "clone".

I was taught that one of the features of DV is that since everything was digital, there were no losses in making a copy of a copy of a ... So, I was taught that the word "clone" was more accurate than "copy".

So if I understand you correctly, if I make a copy of a DV tape to another DV tape, the second tape may NOT be an exact digital copy, but may be degraded to some degree? Does the degradation occur only during the record process, or can it occur in the playback process as well?

Do I assume correctly that once the DV tape is captured to hard disk, the disk file (or parts thereof) may be copied and re-copied any number of times without any loss?

Thanks for your help on this.
Pete Wilie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2004, 08:25 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
A digital file on a computer and harddisk will copy 100% as the
original. Otherwise your Windows would not boot for example.

The idea with tape is that it can be a bit un-reliable to read back,
that's why there is error correction in the DV stream already.

The specifics I leave to Ken since I do not have access to his
extensive knowledgebase <g>
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network