Manually rewinding tape at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

The Long Black Line
Tape, tape and more tape; and decks; HDV, DV, VHS and more.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 11th, 2010, 02:51 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,650
Manually rewinding tape

I managed to extract a miniDV tape from a broken camcorder and now about 8 eight inches of tape is hanging out of the case. I can't seem to find a way to unlock the spools so I can rewind it? Anybody know how to do this? I've tried pushing every latch I can find and nothing works. Badly need the footage as it's B roll from a wedding we shot.
Marco Leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 03:58 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
In between the two spools on the back there should be a little slot with a plastic slider in it. Slide that down with a small flathead screwdriver to unlock the spools.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 04:35 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,650
Are you sure Edward? That was one of the first things I tried. It doesn't seem to work.
Marco Leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 05:17 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
On the back of my tapes the slider is on the left. I'd pull that back to lift open the front lid, then insert a suitable flat blade into the hub of the spool with the most tape on it .. then wind that in.

When it's taught, hand wind past the 8" of tape and try playing from there. HTH

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 05:58 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Albany, NY 12210
Posts: 2,650
Have tried both these switches repeatedly. It does not work. Very puzzled about this.
Marco Leavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 06:13 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Take it to a large cam repair shop, call first. Yrs ago we broke a open a betacam tape and lifted the tape spools and our hopes into an empty shell .. think that's how it went.

Don't try this at home.

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 10:30 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Open the tape and do it manually...if you're patient you shouldn't have to worry about tape on the floor.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > The Long Black Line

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network